It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
TRA3240 Film and Television Subtitles Translation: Home
This course aims to equip students with basic film and television subtitling skills between English and Chinese. Technical problems as well as cultural issues are analysed and discussed.
This volume is a collection of selected papers presented at the International Conference on Dubbing and Subtitling in a World Context in 2001. The papers collected in this book are categorized into three sections: history of the profession, theory, and practice. The four papers in the first section are about the history of subtitling and dubbing in Europe, Mainland China, Japan, and Korea. The five papers in the second section cover such theoretical issues of subtitling and dubbing as intrinsic dualism, the concept of multi-modality, etc. Papers in the third section cover different aspects of the practice of dubbing in various countries.
This database collects 3 handbooks (Handbook of Pragmatics online, Handbook of Translation Studies online, Handbook of Terminology online) and 3 bibliographies (Bibliography of Pragmatics online, Translation studies Bibliography Bibliography of Metaphor and Metonymy). All are in the field of translation and linguistics.
This database abstracts and indexes leading journals in the field of language and linguistics, and provides full text for some of the journals. There are some articles regarding subtitle translation in this database.