Skip to Main Content

Library Decennial

我们的十年,见证知识的传承和创新。

图书馆十年电子资源发展回忆

by Weifan Gong on 2024-04-02T08:30:00+08:00 | 0 Comments

2024/4/2

 

The Blossom Chronicles

 

时光如流 书香永恒

 
 

E-RESOURCE COLLECTION

图书馆十年电子资源发展回忆

在香港中文大学(深圳)十年的辉煌历程中,时光如流,书香永恒。十年的岁月见证了无数学子的成长,也见证了知识的传承与创新。作为知识的港湾,图书馆承载着学术的力量和智慧的火花,成为学术探索和思维启迪的重要场所。从黄宜弘梁凤仪伉俪图书馆到大学图书馆,抚今追昔,让我们一起回顾这十年的奋斗与成就,并展望未来的发展。

In the glorious journey of The Chinese University of Hong Kong, Shenzhen, time flows while the essence of books endures. Over the past decade, this institution has nurtured countless students and fostered the advancement of knowledge. The Library, a beacon of wisdom, fuels academic exploration and intellectual enlightenment. From the Philip Wong Yu-hong & Anita Leung Fung-yee Library to the University Library, let us celebrate the achievements of the past and embrace the unfolding future.

 

随着科技革命和产业变革的发展,人类社会正在加速进入数字时代。在这个时代背景下,高校图书馆扮演着至关重要的角色,作为科研前沿的资源后备,为学术界和研究人员提供着不可或缺的知识支持和创新环境。在这一过程中,香港中文大学(深圳)图书馆的电子资源采购日益成为其采购工作中的关键部分,与传统纸本图书并重。

With the advancements of the technological revolution and industrial transformation, human society is rapidly entering the digital age. In this era, academic libraries assume a vital role as repositories of cutting-edge resources, offering indispensable knowledge support and fostering an environment of innovation for the academic community and researchers. Consequently, the acquisition of electronic resources has progressively become a pivotal component of the procurement initiatives at the Library of CUHK-Shenzhen, complementing the traditional realm of printed books.

 

在过去的十年间,香港中文大学(深圳)图书馆从2014年的13个数据库,已逐渐发展至2023年的198个(2024年的数据库仍在采购过程中)。在这一发展中,图书馆积极与大学各学院开展了多次讨论交流,也就读者需求、科研教学需求与现实情况相结合,进行了多角度、综合性的电子资源采购策略制定和更新。

In the past decade, the Library of CUHK-Shenzhen has witnessed a steady expansion of its database collection, with the number increasing from 13 databases in 2014 to 198 databases in 2023 (with ongoing procurement for 2024). During this period of growth, the Library has actively collaborated with different academic faculties within the University, taking into account user demands, research and teaching requirements, and real-world considerations. This proactive approach has led to the development of comprehensive and multidimensional strategies for procuring and updating electronic resources.

 

Development of Subscripted Databases from 2014 to 2024

src: Metadata Librarian

 

此外,图书馆引入了具有国际先进水平的ALMA图书馆云端管理集成系统以及PRIMO资源统一检索平台,从而实现了对纸本和电子馆藏文献的平台统一管理。

Furthermore, the Library has adopted the cutting-edge ALMA Library Management System and the PRIMO discovery search tool, both recognized for their international excellence. This integration has successfully enabled the unified management of physical and electronic library collections on a single platform.

 

当读者有资源查找需求时,可以在图书馆网站的检索栏中输入所需资源的关键词,点击"SEARCH"后即可直接使用PRIMO资源检索平台来获取结果。此外,为了方便读者快速访问特定数据库进行检索,图书馆制作了已购电子数据库列表。读者只需通过网站目录中的"E-resources"选项,即可进入电子资源列表,在此处可以找到所有已购数据库的链接入口,满足快速访问相关数据库的需求。

When library users have a need to search for resources, they can effortlessly enter the keywords of their desired resources in the search bar on the Library's website and click "SEARCH" to directly access the results using the PRIMO discovery search tool. Moreover, to expedite access to specific databases for searching, the Library has curated a comprehensive list of purchased electronic databases. Users can conveniently navigate to the "E-resources" option in the website's directory, where they will find links to all the acquired databases, enabling them to access the relevant databases they require promptly.

Homepage of the Library's Website

E-resource List Page of the Library's Website

 

正如上一篇《图书馆十年纸本馆藏发展回忆》推文中所提到的,图书馆的文献采购遵循一定的官方流程。在读者提出采购需求后,需要进行专业评估后方可进入采购流程。然而,对于那些急需单本书籍或单篇文章的读者来说,荐购服务并不是最佳的解决方案。

As mentioned in the previous post, the Library's literature procurement follows an official process. After receiving a purchase request from a user, a professional evaluation is conducted before proceeding with the procurement process. However, for users in urgent need of a single book or article, the recommendation service may not be the most optimal solution.

 

为了满足这类读者的需求,大学图书馆纳入了CALIS(中国高等教育文献保障系统)、CASHL(中国高校人文社会科学文献中心)和深圳文献港,从而实现了与系统内其他成员馆之间的馆际互借和文献传递目标。这一举措进一步促进了学术资源共享和学术交流。与传统的纸质资源相比,电子资源不受副本和空间的限制,更容易实现实体间的资源共享和互动,也为跨区域之间的资源合作提供了便利。

To cater to the needs of such users, the Library has integrated CALIS (China Academic Library & Information System), CASHL (China Academic Social Sciences and Humanities Library) and Shenzhen Literature Port. This integration allows for interlibrary loans and document delivery among member libraries within the system, fostering academic resource sharing and scholarly exchange. Electronic resources, unlike traditional print resources, are not constrained by copies or physical space, making it easier to facilitate resource sharing and collaboration between entities. Additionally, they provide a convenient platform for resource collaboration across different regions.

 

除了数据库资源,图书馆还采购了大量的电子图书资源。从2014年建校之初到2024年建校十周年,图书馆的电子图书总量已达近200万册,其中买断型电子书经历了从仅有32本电子图书到超过24万7千本的巨大增长。随着大学学科和课程的不断增加,图书馆的资源将持续丰富和扩充,包括电子图书、纸本图书、报纸、期刊和数据库等。图书馆致力于满足学术需求,持续更新和扩展馆藏,以支持校内读者在学习、科研和教学活动中的需求。

In addition to database resources, the Library has acquired a substantial number of electronic book resources. From its inception in 2014 to its tenth anniversary in 2024, the Library's collection of electronic books has grown to nearly 2 million volumes. Notably, the collection of perpetual access electronic books has experienced tremendous growth, expanding from a mere 32 titles to over 247,000 titles. As the University's academic disciplines and courses continue to expand, the Library's resources will undergo continuous enrichment and expansion. This comprehensive collection encompasses electronic books, print books, newspapers, journals, databases, and more. The Library remains dedicated to meeting the academic needs of its users by actively updating and expanding its collection to support their learning, research, and teaching activities.

 

Development of Perpetual Access Electronic Books from 2014 to 2024

src: Metadata Librarian

 

在数字时代的浪潮中,香港中文大学(深圳)图书馆将继续发挥其不可替代的作用,不断适应和引领学术界的变革。通过持续丰富和拓展电子和纸本等资源,图书馆将继续满足读者们的知识需求,并为大学的科研和教学工作提供全面支持。同时,图书馆也将积极与国内外的图书馆和机构合作,促进资源共享、学术交流和跨区域合作,为学术界的发展做出贡献。

Amidst the digital revolution, the Library of CUHK-Shenzhen remains an indispensable institution, consistently adapting to and spearheading transformations in the academic landscape. Through the ongoing enrichment and expansion of resources in electronic and print formats, the Library will continue to fulfil the knowledge requirements of its users while offering extensive support for the University's research and teaching endeavours. Additionally, the Library will actively engage in collaborations with domestic and international libraries and institutions, fostering resource sharing, academic exchange, and cross-regional cooperation. In doing so, it will contribute significantly to the advancement of the academic community.

 
 

正值建校十周年之际,让我们共同祝福香港中文大学(深圳)十岁生日快乐,一起感念过去的努力与付出,激励我们迈向更辉煌的未来。在这个十周年纪念系列中,让我们共同追寻知识的光芒,共享书香的魅力。让我们以图书馆为起点,书写更加出彩的明天!

As we celebrate the 10th anniversary of its establishment, let us come together and extend our warmest wishes to the Chinese University of Hong Kong, Shenzhen, on reaching this remarkable milestone. May we collectively reflect upon the past efforts and contributions, inspiring us to stride towards a brighter future. In this commemorative series, let us embark on a shared journey in pursuit of the illuminating power of knowledge and embrace the captivating allure of books. Let us begin with the Library of CUHK-Shenzhen as our starting point and script a more remarkable tomorrow together!

 
 
 

内容

CONTENTS

鲍秀林 | 图书馆

Aylin BAO | LIBRARY

编辑

EDITOR

龚玮凡 | 图书馆

GONG Weifan | LIBRARY

 
 

2024 © All rights reserved by the Library of CUHK-Shenzhen

 

 Add a Comment

0 Comments.

  Subscribe



Enter your e-mail address to receive notifications of new posts by e-mail.


  Archive



  Return to Blog
This post is closed for further discussion.