Skip to main content

GEA2000 Modern Chinese History & Culture: Home

Course Description

Understanding China has become an important world-wide subject matter in the 21th century, and the most crucial part lies in the understanding of modern Chinese history, for its dramatic change not only re-determined the bilateral relationship between China and the West, but also shaped contemporary China. This course sheds light on the process of China’s modernization. Through the investigation of the long journey from Opium War to the Period of Reform and Opening, students will construct a comparative and comprehensive framework of China’s past and present.

Recommended Books

The Search for Modern China

This book is the classic introduction to Modern China for students and general readers. It covers the modern Chinese history from the fall of the last Ming emperor in the 17th century to the 1989 Ti’anmen massacre, spanning through the late Ming and early Qing dynasty before China’s first Clash with the West, the crisis in the late Qing period and the end of the dynasty, the 1911 Republic, the rise of the Guomindang, and the struggle the Communists experienced, the fall of the Guomingdang State, the rise of the People’s Republic, and the revolution continued till the Cultural Revolution, Nixon’s visit to China, and China’s modernization development.

Historical Dictionary of Modern China, 1800-1949

This dictionary examines the political, military, economic, social, and cultural development of China during the 19th and first half of the 20th centuries. It presents of chronology that charts events from year to year. The chronology part records not only political and military events but also personal experiences of the Chinese people. The introduction part establishes the background and describes major trends and prominent forces. The core dictionary collects nearly 700 entries on a variety of significant people, historical concepts, cultural and educational institutions, and economic activities. The bibliography stresses current literature about China’s drive toward modernization. The appendixes provide detailed information on the country’s cultural and economic transformation.

A Dictionary of Official Titles in Imperial China

This dictionary identifies, defines, and places in their temporal and institutional contexts the official titles and agency names. This dictionary is written principally in Literary or Classical Chinese with Wade-Giles romanizations. The introduction part offers descriptions of governmental organization dynasty by dynasty from Chou to Ch’ing, including simple organizational charts for most dynasties. The main body of the Dictionary consists of 8,291 individual entries for titles, agency names, and related terminology. The Reference part consists of a finding-list of suggested English renderings, another for Chinese characters and compounds, and a conversion table from Pinyin romanizations to the Wade-Giles romanizations.

Chinese History: A New Manual

This book introduces students to the different types of transmitted, excavated, and artifactual sources from prehistory to the twentieth century. It examines the context in which the sources were produced, preserved, and received, as well as the problems of research and interpretation associated with them, and includes a selection of secondary works. This book comprises 14 parts. Book 1-9 present the sources by subject- language; people; geography and the environment; governing and educating; ideas and beliefs, literature, and the fine arts; agriculture, food and drink; technology and science; trade; historiography. Books 10-12 present pre-history and the sources by dynasty or group of dynasties. Book 14 is on historical bibliography.

中国近现代史纲要

“中国近现代史纲要”是全国高等学校本科生必修的思想政治理论课,本书即为课程指定教材。本书共分为三个部分,以时间发展的顺序记录了1840年以来中国近现代史的历程。上编从鸦片战争到五四运动前夜,中编从五四运动到新中国成立,下编从新中国成立到社会主义现代化建设新时期。本书旨在通过对中国近现代史的梳理,了解中华民族在社会主义道路上实现伟大复兴的史实,认识中国选择马克思主义和中国共产党的历史原因,树立爱国主义思想、发扬革命传统。

剑桥中国晚清史

本书共上下两卷,为《剑桥中国史》系列丛书的第10卷和第11卷。上卷简要浏览了1800年前后旧中国的历史、社会、行政、对外关系以及清王朝的亚洲腹地,进而开始追溯晚清的一系列社会历史政治事件,如广州贸易和鸦片战争、太平军叛乱以及基督教传教活动等等。下卷始于19世纪初期北京在农业、手工业、近代工业、国内外贸易、行政和经济以及对外关系的各种问题,并探究了随后的社会历史政治事件,如对外战争、维新运动、辛亥革命、共和革命运动等等。

毛澤東的中國及其後: 中華人民共和國史

在本書中,邁斯納表明了自己對毛澤東主義下的中國共產黨所進行的革命的觀點——這是壹場“失敗”的革命。稱其為“失敗”,並非是邁斯納試圖否認這場革命對於實現民族獨立和政治統壹的意義,而在於這場革命並沒有實現社會主義,而使中國走上了資本主義的道路。本書共分為六個部分,第壹部分分析了革命興起的政治、社會、文化、歷史等原因,第二部分至第五部分隨著時間的發展,書寫了毛澤東主義的中國革命自1949年建國起到1998年鄧小平時代的結束的全部歷程。

邓小平时代

本书以时间发展为轴线,再现了邓小平的人生经历和政治生命。本书大量参考了《邓小平文选》和《邓小平年谱》,邓小平的小女儿邓榕写作的《我的父亲邓小平》和《我的父亲邓小平:“文革”岁月》,以及来自于理查德•伊文斯、莫里斯•迈斯纳等学者的英文著作,和来自于和邓小平一起工作过的官员和优秀的中国记者、学者的文献。傅高义的创作还来自于对党史专家、高干子女、在邓小平手下工作过的干部、中国退休官员和外国外交政治家等等各类了解邓小平的生平的人群的采访。

The Man Awakened from Dreams: One Man’s Life in a North China Village, 1857-1942

This book presents everyday life in the countryside in the late-nineteenth and early-twentieth centuries China based on nearly 400 volumes of Liu Dapeng’s diary and other writings. Liu was a provincial degree-holder who never held government office. The book illustrates what it was like to study in an academy and to be a schoolteacher, the pressures of changing family relationships, the daily grind of work in industry and agriculture, people's experience with government, and life under the Japanese occupation, representing the decline of the countryside in relation to the cities as a result of modernization and the transformation of Confucian ideology as a result of these changes.

梦醒子:一位华北乡居者的人生

本书运用了微观史的思想探寻个体生命在历史洪河中的兴衰沉浮,以一位受过良好教育然而被排挤在政治权利中心之外的寒门塾师刘大鹏的生平展现了20世纪初中国山西的乡村生活。本书的创作主要基于刘大鹏的日记和其他作品、已出版的地方史资料和口述访谈等材料。沈爱娣以批判的眼光看待中国的现代化进程。微观层面上,刘大鹏在西化的新政的夹缝中苦苦追寻着中国古代圣贤的训诫,宏观层面上,山西的村落未受到国家整体现代化进程的青睐而踏上了衰败的路途。

Fu Ssu-Nien: A Life in Chinese History and Politics

Fu Ssu-nien was a Chinese scholar, educator, and political and social critic in twentieth-century China. This book offers a scholarly account of Fu’s intellectual life and that of the academic community he helped to shape in the 1930s and 1940s. This book offers in-depth examination and serious recognition of his role in the intellectual and educational development in modern China, including his efforts to establish a modern historical discipline with an emphasis on objective analysis of primary sources, and to support and to repudiate the Movement of Doubting Chinese Antiquity, etc. This book also tells the story of Fu’s struggles with political foes and his involvement in wartime politics.

Fu Ssu-Nien: A Life in Chinese History and Politics (E-books of a Different Edition)

Fu Ssu-nien was a Chinese scholar, educator, and political and social critic in twentieth-century China. This book offers a scholarly account of Fu’s intellectual life and that of the academic community he helped to shape in the 1930s and 1940s. This book offers in-depth examination and serious recognition of his role in the intellectual and educational development in modern China, including his efforts to establish a modern historical discipline with an emphasis on objective analysis of primary sources, and to support and to repudiate the Movement of Doubting Chinese Antiquity, etc. This book also tells the story of Fu’s struggles with political foes and his involvement in wartime politics.

傅斯年:中国近代历史与政治中的个体生命

傅斯年是新文化运动时期历史考证学派的重要代表人物,是五四青年运动的领军人物。傅斯年一直坚持批判中国共产党,而对傅斯年的学术研究,由于毛泽东所领导的中国共产党对他的严厉批判,在中国大陆迟迟未能开展,在台湾傅斯年的学术成果也遭到了新一代史家和新儒家的攻击与指责。本书重新评判了傅斯年的学术贡献,重现其建构中国现代学术的历程,如创建史语所,培养了大批考古等领域的学者,使中国的历史学成为一门专业学科,对疑古运动的支持与否定等。

The Qing Empire and the Opium War: The Collapse of the Heavenly Dynasty

This book is an English translation of the original work scripted in Chinese by the well-known historian Mao Haijian. Mao examines the Qing participants in terms of the moral standards and intellectual norms of their own time, demonstrating that actions which have struck later observers as ridiculous can be understood as reasonable within these individuals' own context. This book offers a comprehensive response to the question of why the Qing Empire was so badly defeated by the British in the first Opium War by examining the various aspects that the Qing Empire has lagged behind the world from the socio-historical perspective.

天朝的崩溃:鸦片战争再研究

本书重新审视了鸦片战争这一著名的历史事件,试图弱化乃至否定传统释义中琦善等在对英关系中主和的大臣与林则徐等主战的大臣这些历史人物在鸦片战争的历史进程中所起到的个人作用,甚至通过层层抽丝剥茧地梳理历史材料指出,与传统的教科书形象不同,琦善并非卖国求荣之辈,而林则徐亦非改革中国的先驱。茅海建选择从清朝落后于世界的方方面面探寻鸦片战争惨败的社会历史原因,参照同时期进行明治维新的日本德川幕府,分析中国的武力抵抗注定失败的历史规律。

Shanghai on Strike: The Politics of Chinese Labor

This book focuses on the origins and political proclivities of the Shanghai work force. It places the politics of Chinese workers in comparative perspectives- basically it studies working-class action from three different vantage points. Part One adopts the social history method, focusing on popular culture defined by native-place origin. Part Two adopts the political science method, examining the strategies of party organizers and the pattern of inter- and intraparty competition. Part three adopts the industrial sociology method, focusing on the workplace. This book draws on abundant sources and studies which have appeared in the People's Republic of China since the early 1980s.

上海罢工:中国工人政治研究

本书运用了多种学科研究方法来研究上海工人力量的起源和政治倾向。第一部分追溯了上海工人力量在地理上与文化上的源流,提出早期上海工人的反抗因籍贯的不同而存在差异。第二部分描述了20世纪20年代至40年代上海工人运动的基本状况,指出了外来组织者是如何被迫接受与其思想相抵触但植根于工人中的传统观念。第三部分对烟草、纺织和运输行业做了颇为详尽的个案研究,揭示不同行业的工人在不同时期针对当时政治形势做出了怎样的反应。

Autumn in the Heavenly Kingdom: China, the West, and the Epic Story of the Taiping Civil War

This book reviews the Taiping Civil War. It analyzes the foreign powers, especially key figures from the UK and the US, the reason why they intervened this civil war, and the effect on the end of it. These figures include the UK military officer who attacked the Taiping army, the US soldiers who were tempted by the high commissions, and the Western preachers who embraced the ideal to save the world. The impact from Zeng Guofan and his Xiang army is comparatively weakened to the orthodox view in Chinese history. Platt thinks that foreign powers and Zeng intervened this civil war because they believed it was more beneficial if China was under the reign of the Qing dynasty, though it turned out they did not obtain the preconceived benefits after the civil war.

天国之秋

本书重新审视了太平天国运动,着重分析了外国势力,特别是英美关键人物,干预这场运动的原因,以及在这场运动的结局中发挥的作用。这些人物包括攻打太平天国运动的英国将领、受佣金报酬诱惑的美国大兵、怀揣宗教救世理想的西方传教士等等。传统中国史上认为剿灭太平天国运动的最大功臣曾国藩及其湘军的作用相对被弱化。裴士锋认为外国势力与曾国藩均是在认为清朝统治对自身更为有利的思考下涉足战争的,然而战争结束后的发展对双方都未带来预想的利益。

再造文明之梦: 胡适传

胡适是中国近代史上重要的思想家和学者,他开创了近代中国史学革命,在中国文学史上留下了浓墨重彩的一笔,他提倡的白话文沿用至今。本书按照学术著作的定位,对胡适的生平进行了全方位的探索。罗志田认为,要研究胡适,不仅要研究胡适得到广泛认可的作品,还应揣摩被世人所忽视的作品,从而全面地认识胡适所处的时代,以及身处这样的时代中的胡适。罗志田眼中的胡适,是以富于外来批判精神的传教士自居的、以改变祖国落后现状再造文明为己任的先行者。

胡适全集

胡适是中国近代史上重要的学者、思想家、文学家、教育家、政治活动和社会活动家。他深受中国传统思想——如老子、乾嘉诸老——的影响,同时吸收了大量西方的学术思想和政治宗教传统,特别是美国的杜威实验主义。本书集共44卷,前4卷为《胡适文存》,中38卷收录了胡适哲学、文学、史学等各领域的专著、论集、疑案考证、人物传记等,同时还收录了时论、书信、日记、英文著述与信函、译文等其他作品,后2卷附胡适生平年表及胡适著译系年。

中國模式:贊成與反對

丁學良肯定了“中國模式”的存在,並提出應將其定義於政治經濟學範疇。他提出“中國模式”這壹概念的三個支點是政治權力、社會控制和經濟體制。丁學良稱“中國模式”不是概括政界或學術界的集體共識,而是反觀中國改革開放歷程中形成的客觀軌跡時主觀意願與客觀情勢之間的碰撞結晶,不存在壹個固化的“中國模式”的結構,“中國模式”是隨著社會歷史的演進而動態發展的。丁學良還指出,承認壹個“中國模式”的存在,不等於對這壹模式的推崇和維護。

辩论“中国模式”

丁学良肯定了“中国模式”的存在,并提出应将其定义于政治经济学范畴。他提出“中国模式”这一概念的三个支点是政治权力、社会控制和经济体制。丁学良称“中国模式”不是概括政界或学术界的集体共识,而是反观中国改革开放历程中形成的客观轨迹时主观意愿与客观情势之间的碰撞结晶,不存在一个固化的“中国模式”的结构,“中国模式”是随著社会历史的演进而动态发展的。丁学良还指出,承认一个“中国模式”的存在,不等于对这一模式的推崇和维护。

党员、党权与党争:1924-1949年中国国民党的组织形态

本书采用了从社会史角度切入的研究方法,以国民党“治党史”为中心,考察国民党党机器的运行机制和组织形态,着重探讨国民党的组织结构、党员的社会构成、政治录用体制、党政关系、派系之争与党内精英冲突、党民关系与阶级基础等方面。本书的研究时限设定在1924-1949年,从国民党第一次全国代表大会的召开到国民党的退败。在资料来源上,主要依据国民党自身形成的文献档案和出版物,同时兼顾和参考体制外各方对国民党的观察性言论。

中华人民共和国建国史研究

本书是一部研究中国当代史的学术著作。上卷选取建国前后土改运动及其土改运动中出现的地主富农问题、“镇压反革命”运动、“三反”运动、“五反”运动、新中国对资产阶级的政策变动、中共干部任用制度以及干部职务等级工资制的形成等政治事件,下卷选取沈阳美领馆事件与新中国对美政策的确立,中苏结盟与中苏两党的民族主义碰撞,中国出兵朝鲜的因与果,两次台海危机的由来及其幕后,中苏边界冲突与中国对美缓和等外交事件,逐一进行了个案式的研究。

去政治化的政治:短20世纪的终结与90年代

本书为汪晖近十年的论文结集。汪晖认为,在“90年代”,经济、政治、文化以及军事的含义发生了根本性的转变,不同的思想力量与新自由主义的对峙成为重要的思想事件,书中重点讨论了90年代以来社会急遽转型中经济全面市场化、消费主义盛行、社会阶层结构性重组和知识群体明显分化的大背景下,中国知识思想的状况与问题。同时本书也对对60年代末期以降东西方均逐渐强化的“去政治化”过程所导致的政党政治的危机进行了分析和论述。

On China

This book mainly covers the interaction between the political leaders in China and the United States from 1949 onwards. Kissinger thinks that it is important to have a basic knowledge of Chinese traditions so as to understand China’s twentieth-century diplomacy or its twenty-first-century world role, and thus this book begins with an examination of Chinese traditional thoughts. Kissinger also traces the history of the Opium War, Domestic upheavals, Mao’s earlier revolution. The discussion of the relations between China and the United States since 1949 does not begin until the 5th chapter. The major focus of Chinese political leaders lies on Mao, Deng, and Jiang Zemin in the following chapters.

After the Imperial Turn: Thinking with and through the Nation

This book collects 20 essays focused on imperialism and postcolonialism. While most of the contributors discuss British imperialism and its repercussions, the volume also includes essays on the history and historiography of France, Germany, Spain, and the United States. Part 1 engages the question of how to think, teach, and work postnationally in all manner of geopolitical locations and from different disciplinary vantage points. Part 2 opens up the discussion of empire, nation, and colony beyond the boundaries of British imperial history and scholarship. Part 3 features new directions in research that test the practicality and methodological limits of the imperial turn.

Selected Works of Mao Tse-tung

This four-volume edition includes important articles Mao wrote in the different period of the Chinese revolution. The contents are arranged in chronological order and according the main periods in the history of the Communist Party of China since its foundation in 1921. The first volume covers the periods of the First Revolutionary Civil War (1921-1927) and of the Second Revolutionary Civil War (1927-1937). The second and third volumes cover the period of the War of Resistance against Japan (1937-1945). The fourth volume covers that of the Third Revolutionary Civil War (1945-1949).

Manifesto of the Communist Party

Manifesto of the Communist Party, often referred to as The Communist Menafesto, was first published on February 21, 1848 in German as Manifest der Kommunistischen Partei. Commissioned by the Communist League and co-authoered by Karl Marx and Friedrich Engels, it laid out the League’s purposes and program on the instruction of its Second Congress (London, November 29-December 8, 1847). The Manifesto suggested a course of action for a proletarian revolution to overthrow the bourgeois social order and to eventually bring about a classless and stateless society and the abolition of private property.

The Permanent Revolution and Results and Prospects

Two major works by Leon Trotsky are collected in this book- Results and Prospects, first published in St. Petersburg in 1906, and The Permanent Revolution, first published in Berlin in 1930. In both works, Trotsky showed that developing countries must achieve worker’s rule in order to defeat tyranny and foreign domination. He explained that socialism must expand beyond national borders and transform every aspect of political, economic and human relations if it is to succeed. This new edition is corrected and revised based on the translations by John G. Wright and Brian Pearce, and it features an index and a glossary of historical and biographical references and unfamiliar terms.

Recommended Databases