Skip to Main Content
As the name implies, this is a foundation course designed to prepare students for more advanced interpreting courses and courses in different domains. The course aims at providing students an overview of the history and general principles in interpreting. The focus of the course will be on consecutive interpreting (CI) from Chinese to English. The course provides intensive training in important techniques in CI such as listening, working memory, note-taking, sight translation etc.
The target audience of this book is the practitioners and instructors of conference interpreting and/or translation. Gile argues that professional translation entails students’ understanding of the theoretical approach that translation serves for communication between the initiator and the receptor. He points out that adding or deleting words and reframing sentences do not necessarily violate the principle of fidelity, and that translation must be conducted with discourse comprehension. Gile offers a number of models for simultaneous interpreting, consecutive interpreting, sight translation, and simultaneous with texts, including a sequential model, the effort model of simultaneous interpreting, and the IDRC model (Interpretation-Decision-Resources-Constraints).
This textbook is designed to provide students, instructors, researchers, and practitioners with an overview of interpreting studies. This book consists of ten chapters organized into three parts. Chapters 1 to 5 make up the synthetic representation of interpreting studies in terms of concepts, developments, approaches, paradigms and models. Chapters 6 to 9 are devoted to an analytical presentation of the state of the art. Chapter 10, the only chapter that constitutes Part 3, reviews the major trends and future perspectives of interpreting studies as a field of research, and offers further suggestions for individual researchers.
This book collects 16 articles on nonverbal communication in the various literary genres and in visual translation as film and television dubbing. Poyatos gives a definition of nonverbal communication at the beginning, defining it as the “emissions of signs by all the nonlexical, artifactual and environmental sensible sign systems contained in a culture, whether individually or in mutual co-structuration, and whether or not those emissions constitute behavior or generate personal interaction.” The 16 articles are divided into 7 parts, discourse and nonverbal communication; cultures in translation; narrative literature; theater; poetry; interpretation; and the audiovisual channels for translation: film and television dubbing.
This handbook surveys the field of interpreting with twenty-seven essays. Part One examines the history of the interpreting professions, the key internal and external players in the development of the interpreting profession, and evolution of interpreting research. Part Two places emphasis on the different modalities of interpreting. Part Three shows how these particular modes of interpreting may be used in the many specialized settings in which interpreters work. Part Four steps back from the minute analysis of specific modalities and settings of interpreting in order to explore the broader issues and debates ongoing in the field as a whole.
This book is loosely based on an earlier publication, Conference Interpreting – A Students’ Companion published in 2001 in Poland. It offers some guidelines for effective practice and a compilation of practice exercises drawn from conference interpreting literature and teachers. The book consists of four parts. Part 1 offers general principles for effective practice drawn from the author’s own extensive experience as an interpreter and interpreter-trainer. Part 2 covers language enhancement at very high level. Part 3 and Part 4 cover the key sub-skills needed to effectively handle the two components of conference interpreting- simultaneous and consecutive interpreting.
This book serves for student interpreters to study the system for note-taking in consecutive interpreting. Part I spreads out the stages through which the note-taking system is built with. Chapters 1-3 present the basic elements of the note-taking system. Chapter 4 starts to discuss how to link these basic elements together. Chapters 5-7 discusses the differing levels of values coming from the speaker, the use of symbols, and memory prompts respectively. Part II provides tips and ideas used within the note-taking system from the perspectives of clauses, rules of abbreviation, verbs, etc. Part III is exercise-oriented, providing sample speeches, their notes and commentaries on these notes, etc.
This book unravels the process of conference interpreting in a descriptive manner. There are 5 chapters in this book. Chapter 1 gives answers of some basic questions such as what is an interpreter, what is conference interpreting, what is consecutive interpreting, and what is simultaneous interpreting, etc. Chapter 2 presents the basic principles of consecutive interpreting- understanding, analyzing, and re-expressing. Chapter 3 expands on note-taking in consecutive interpreting. Chapter 4 mainly focus on simultaneous interpreting, especially the technique of simultaneous interpreting. In Chapter 5, Jones expresses his pleasure with interpreting.
This book examines translation as a means of communication across different languages and cultures and provides a critical overview of different approaches to translation, of the link between culture and translation, and between views of context and text in translation. Part One gives an overview of several basic issues in the field of translation studies. Part Two deals with several important phenomena and domains of translation theory: (un)translatability, text and context, and evaluation of translation. Part Three features important strands of recent and contemporary research. Part Four is devoted to the role of translation in different domains of practice.
This book is a guide to research methods in all types of interpreting. It features questions, prompts and exercises throughout to highlight key concepts, and deals fully with research in both conference and community interpreting, offering a variety of perspectives on both. Beginning with a general overview of research concepts, approaches, and paradigms, the book proceeds to discuss research methods chapter by chapter, including critical reading and writing, questionnaires in interpreting research, ethnographic research on interpreting, discourse analysis in interpreting research, experimental methods in interpreting research, research on interpreting education and assessment, conducting and disseminating interpreting research.
This book is written for the profession of court interpreting. Mikkelson insists that it is of great importance to understand different legal traditions, and to understand the various stages criminal and civil cases are processed, especially when the court interpreters come into the case in the middle. The Code of Ethics, such as fidelity, confidentiality, impartiality, professional conduct, is also crucial for court interpreters to complete their tasks in the court. Not until then does Mikkelson turns to the interpreting techniques in court interpreting. In the end, Mikkelson presents the most common criminal offences and civil-law issues such as traffic, weapons, divorce, and adoption.
Obst, a former White House English-German interpreter, served for seven past American presidents in the White House. In this book, he deeply looks into the five presidents he had most interactions with- Lyndon B. Johnson, Richard M. Nixon, Gerald R. Ford, Jimmy Carter, and Ronald W. Reagan. Aside from these presidents, he shares his thoughts on the art of interpretation. According to Obst, the art of interpretation refers to the professional interpretation of spoken words. Obst suggests that professional interpreters use three major tools to retain many sentences without loss, anticipation, visualization, and a structured note-taking form.
本书是《中译翻译文库》系列丛书之一，该系列丛书一方面指出将直译与意译、归化与异化等概念进行二元对立的不科学性，另一方面也强调了翻译作为独立于语言学的一门学科的历史发展与特性，同时还表明中国的翻译学摆脱西方套路独立创新的需求。本书旨在指导教师和学生科学地、纲领性地训练口译技能，主要参考了翻译学、心理语言学、认知心理学、神经语言学、跨文化交际学和翻译教学法这几大学科的著作，提出了对翻译的动态和思维的研究，制定了基本的教学大纲。
This book is an anthology of texts in the discipline of Interpreting Studies. Part 1 collects works before 1975 that opened the era of conference interpreting. Part 2 collects more works that build up the foundations of conference interpreting during the 1970s. Part 3 focus on works that presents efforts to construct models of the interpreting process in the 1990s. Part 4 covers works from the sociological and situational perspectives as well as the semiotic dimension. Part 5 addresses the discourse studies and pragmatics. Part 6 explores underlying patterns of interpreter performance and its reception by the user. Part 7 focus on non-conference settings of interpreting.
This book is a collection of recent Chinese research on interpreting. It explores topics as diverse as historical conceptions of the interpreter’s role, interaction with linguistic minorities, methods for training and assessment, and negotiating hazards like speed, register or the cultural divide in conference, courtroom and community. Aside from an introduction that presents the historical and cultural context of interpreting in China and an overview of all essays collected in this book, it also includes a report on the landscape on interpreter training and research in China, and two critical reviews of textbooks used in home-grown training programs.
