It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
TRA1010 Principles of Translation: Home
This course introduces students to various principles and concepts of translation. It equips them with a sound intellectual framework, translation techniques and methods, which will enable them to translate effectively.
The target audience of this book is the practitioners and instructors of conference interpreting and/or translation. Gile argues that professional translation entails students’ understanding of the theoretical approach that translation serves for communication between the initiator and the receptor. He points out that adding or deleting words and reframing sentences do not necessarily violate the principle of fidelity, and that translation must be conducted with discourse comprehension. Gile offers a number of models for simultaneous interpreting, consecutive interpreting, sight translation, and simultaneous with texts, including a sequential model, the effort model of simultaneous interpreting, and the IDRC model (Interpretation-Decision-Resources-Constraints).
This book serves as the coursebook of translation principles and methodology for advanced undergraduates and postgraduates. Part I introduces principles for translating. Newmark emphasizes that translation serves to reveal truths- he argues that languages in all cultures are translatable. Newmark points out the practice of translation entails the analysis of texts, including the intention of the translator, text styles, etc. Part II Methods prepare thirteen texts for four types of exercises. Newmark makes analysis of the problems of the source language texts, presents both the semantic translation and the communicative translation, translations with commentaries, and examples of translation criticism.
The Routledge Encyclopedia of Translation Studies has been the standard, highly distinctive reference work in its field since it first appeared in 1968. Many of its features are not found elsewhere, especially its series of short histories of translation. Part I: General surveys the theory and practice of many disciplines now subsumed into the rubric Translation Studies, illuminating its dynamic development and widening contexts. Part II: History and Traditions spans 32 geographic, linguistic, or cultural areas, outlining and assessing each of their translation histories and traditions- Africa through to Turkey.
This book is a systematic study of the discipline Translation Studies. The emphasis throughout is on literary translation. It is organized in three sections. Section One is concerned with the central issues of translation, with the problem of meaning, untranslatability and equivalence, and with the question of translation as a part of communication theory. Section Two traces lines through different time periods, to show how concepts of translation have differed through the ages and yet have been bound by common links. Section Three examines the specific problems of translating poetry, prose and drama.
This book is aimed at disseminating knowledge about translation and interpreting and providing easy access to a large range of topics, traditions, and methods to a relatively broad audience, including students, researchers and lecturers in Translation Studies, as well as practitioners, scholars and experts from other related disciplines (linguistics, sociology, history, psychology, etc.). Readers of general interest are also target audience of this book. Therefore, this book collects relatively brief overview articles. There are altogether 74 articles arranged in alphabetical order, elaborating important conceptions in Translation Studies, such as Applied Translation Studies, Computer-aided translation, etc.
De Gruyter Journals & E-books collects journals published by De Gruyter and books published by De Gruyter and leading university presses in cooperation with De Gruyter. There are some books addressing principles of translation, for example, On Translation edited by Reuben Arthur Brower.
John Benjamins E-books collects books published by John Benjamins. There are some books addressing principles of translation, such as Essay on the Principles of Translation by Alexander Fraser Tytler; Basic Concepts and Models for Interpreter and Translator Training by Daniel Gile; Handbooks of Translation Studies edited by Yves Gambier and Luc van Doorslaer; etc.
John Benjamins Journals collects journals published by John Benjamins. Students taking this course may be interested in the following journals- Babel;
FORUM. Revue internationale d’interprétation et de traduction / International Journal of Interpretation and Translation;
Target. International Journal of Translation Studies; etc.
This database collects 3 handbooks (Handbook of Pragmatics online, Handbook of Translation Studies online, Handbook of Terminology online) and 3 bibliographies (Bibliography of Pragmatics online, Translation studies Bibliography Bibliography of Metaphor and Metonymy). All are in the field of translation and linguistics.
This database abstracts and indexes leading journals in the field of language and linguistics. Students in this program may be interested in the following journals- Translation Studies; Meta; Target; Perspectives; The Translator; Babel; Translation and Interpreting Studies; The Interpreter and Translator Trainer; etc.
This database abstracts and indexes leading journals in the field of language and linguistics, and provides full text for some of the journals. Students in this program may be interested in the following journals- Translation Studies; Meta; Target; Perspectives; The Translator; Babel; Translation and Interpreting Studies; The Interpreter and Translator Trainer; etc.
Taylor & Francis Journals collects journals published by Taylor & Francis. Students taking this course may be interested in the following journals- The Translator; Translation Studies; The Interpreter and Translator Trainer; Perspectives; etc.
Wiley Online Library collects journals and books published by Wiley. There are some books addressing principles of translation, for example, A Companion to Translation Studies edited by Sandra Bermann and Catherine Porter.