This course covers the theories and research contributing to the emerging field of positive psychology. The course provides an overview of the positive views of human functioning along with a review of this sub-discipline's contributions to traditional research and practice in psychology. Topics include human strengths, happiness, gratitude, flow, optimism and hope, wisdom and courage, positive affect, resilience, coping, friendship and love, positive psychology in organizations, clinical psychology and psychotherapy, positive education, and positive development across the lifespan.
This book covers the science and application of positive psychology and presents new frameworks for understanding positive emotions and strengths through a culturally competent lens. The authors address important issues such as how positive psychology can improve schooling and the workplace, as well as how it can promote flourishing in day-to-day life. The book also explores various positive conditions within multiple cultural contexts, such as happiness and well-being, and processes related to mindfulness, wisdom, courage, and spirituality. In this third edition, the latest research in positive psychology is integrated throughout and covers topics such as hope, courage, and altruism while giving attention to multiple cultural contexts.
Written from a scientific perspective and thoroughly grounded in research, this book covers major topics of concern to the field of positive psychology- positive experiences such as pleasure and flow; positive traits such as character strengths, values, and talents; and the social institutions that enable these such as friendship, love, education, and religion. every chapter contains exercises that illustrate positive psychology and offers articles and books for further reading as well as a listing of films, websites, and popular songs that embody chapter themes or might provide the basis of research papers.
This handbook provides a roadmap for positive psychology, the scientific study of what makes life most worth living. These 65 chapters summarize all of the relevant literature in the field. The content's breadth and depth provide an unparalleled cross-disciplinary look at positive psychology from diverse fields and all branches of psychology, including social, clinical, personality, counseling, school, and developmental psychology. Topics include not only happiness but also hope, strengths, positive emotions, life longings, creativity, emotional creativity, courage, and more, plus guidelines for applying what has worked for people across time and cultures.
This book examines how positive psychology applies to stressors and health within such traditional research areas as developmental, clinical, personality, motivational, social, and behavioral psychology. Furthermore, the book offers perspectives on positive emotional states, research and theory on positive traits, coverage of positive institutions, and a look at the future of positive psychology. This third edition, reflects significant growth in field with hundreds of new references and expanded content on topics including mindfulness, money and subjective well-being, and romantic love. It also features new research on emotional intelligence, positive character strengths, emotional regulation, LGBT issues, gratitude, compassion, organizational issues, and positive psychology through the lifespan.
This book belongs to the field of positive psychology, an approach to human behavior that focuses on strengths as well as weaknesses and on promoting human potential and fulfillment. It describes the classification of strengths and virtues and ways of measuring them devised by Martin Seligman, the scientific director of the Values in Action Institute created by the Manuel D. and Rhoda Mayerson Foundation, and Christopher Peterson, the project director of the classification project, with the assistance of a number of scholars and practitioners. 24 Character Strengths divided among 6 virtues are presented. One chapter is devoted to each of the 24 virtues.
This book sets forth eleven rules of usage, eleven principles of composition, a few matters of form, and a list of commonly misused words and expressions. The rules and principles are in the form of sharp commands such as “do not join independent clauses with a comma”, “do not break sentences in two”, and “use the active voice”, and each rule or principle is followed by a short hortatory essay. A chapter “An Approach to Style” is added by White to this edition to set forth notions of error and articles of faith. Example sentences show proper and improper usage.
This book is written by Joshua Schimel, a scientist working at the interface of ecosystem and microbial ecology at the University of California, Santa Barbara. As a scientist himself, Schimel does not waste words on how to convey data. Rather, he emphasizes that science writing should be conducted as storytelling. In other words, science writing should not be downplayed as secondary to scientific investigation and reporting; good writing is the foundation of reasonable thinking. The aim of the book is to “show scientists and students how to present their research in a way which is clear and that will maximize reader comprehension.”
This book talks about how to write and how to write well. It begins with a discussion of principles- the transaction, simplicity, clutter, style, the audience, words, and usage. Then it moves to the discussion of methods- unity, the lead and the ending, and other bits & pieces. Next, it begins to discuss different forms of writing- nonfiction as literature, the interview, the travel article, the memoir, science and technology, business writing, sports, arts, and humor. The book ends with the reflections on attitudes- the sound of your voice; enjoyment, fear and confidence; the tyranny of the final product; a writer’s decisions; writing family history and memoir; etc.
Address:
2001 Longxiang Blvd., Longgang District,
Shenzhen, Guangdong, China
Tel: (0755)23515151 (University Library)
Email: library@cuhk.edu.cn
on WeChat
on Bilibili
