It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
TRA2410 Computers and Translation: Home
This is a theory-cum-practice course that introduces the knowledge and skills of translation technology, covering computer-aided translation, machine translation, localization, and speech translation.
This book serves scholars and researchers of translation studies and computational linguistics. Chapter 1 provides a chronological analysis of the development of translation technology, mainly computer-aided translation, in different countries and regions since over forty years ago. Chapter 2 discusses the seven major concepts in translation technology. Chapter 3 examines the systems and the functions that are used during the five stages of data management. Chapter 4 explores various aspects of free and paid computer-aided translation systems. Chapter 5 presents a framework of computer-aided translation studies. Chapter 6 looks into the future of translation technology based on the main trends that have emerged in recent decades.
This encyclopedia provides a comprehensive overview of the general, regional, and topical aspects of the field of computer-assisted translation. It is divided into three parts. Part 1 presents general issues in translation technology; major concepts, systems, and translator training of computer-aided translation; various aspects of machine translation; and a valuable case study of its teaching at the Chinese University of Hong Kong. Part 2 discusses national and regional developments in translation technology, covering the crucial territories of China, Canada, France, Hong Kong, Japan, South Africa, Taiwan, the Netherlands and Belgium, the United Kingdom and the United States. Part 3 evaluates specific matters in translation technology.
This book is intended as an introduction to translation technology for students of translation. It can also be useful to professional translators and those interested in translation technology. This book discusses the definitions of terms referring to the use of computers in translation activities, technology within the larger framework of Translation Studies as a discipline, different machine translation system designs also known as architectures, uses of several computer-aided translation tools, the evaluation of translation technology, recent developments and direction in which translation technology is heading, and an expanded version of the four basic classifications of translation types as suggested by Hutchins and Somers.
John Benjamins E-books collects books published by John Benjamins. There are some books regarding computers and translation, such as Computers and Translation edited by Harold Somers; Machine Translation by John Lehrberger and Laurent Bourbeau; etc.
This database collects 3 handbooks (Handbook of Pragmatics online, Handbook of Translation Studies online, Handbook of Terminology online) and 3 bibliographies (Bibliography of Pragmatics online, Translation studies Bibliography Bibliography of Metaphor and Metonymy). All are in the field of translation and linguistics.
This database abstracts and indexes leading journals in the field of language and linguistics. Students in this program may be interested in the following journals- Computational Linguistics; Machine Translation; etc.
This database abstracts and indexes leading journals in the field of language and linguistics, and provides full text for some of the journals. Students in this program may be interested in the following journals- Machine Translation; Computational Linguistics; etc.
SpringerLink collects journals and books published by Springer. Students taking this course may be interested in the following journal- Machine Translation. There are also some books regarding computers and translation, such as Machine Translation by Yorick Wilks; Linguistically Motivated Statistical Machine Translation by Deyi Xiong and Min Zhang; Handbook of Natural Language Processing and Machine Translation edited by Joseph Olive, Caitlin Christianson and John McCary; etc.
Wiley Online Library collects journals and books published by Wiley. There are some books regarding computers and translation, for example, Comparable Corpora and Computer‐Assisted Translation by Estelle Maryline Delpech.