Skip to main content

TRA3110 Translation Criticism: Home

Course Description

This course aims at exploring (1) the fundamental elements of text formulation that underlie various text types as manifested in translation, and (2) the relationship between language use and translation as cross-cultural communication, with a view to enabling students to base their criticism of translated texts on a discernment informed by relevant language and translation theories.

Recommended Books

Translation Criticism - The Potentials and Limitations

The purpose of this book is to formulate appropriate categories and objective criteria for the evaluation of all kinds of translations. Reiss argues that translation criticism is possible only by persons who are familiar with both the target and source languages, and is accordingly in a position to compare the translation directly with its original. Reiss promotes the notion of objective translation criticism, by which she means that every criticism of a translation, whether positive or negative, must be defined explicitly and be verified by examples. Nevertheless, fully aware of the subjective influences, Reiss also thinks that a proper translation criticism is accordingly objective only to the extent that it takes these subjective conditions into consideration.

Routledge Encyclopedia of Translation Studies

The Routledge Encyclopedia of Translation Studies has been the standard, highly distinctive reference work in its field since it first appeared in 1968. Many of its features are not found elsewhere, especially its series of short histories of translation. Part I: General surveys the theory and practice of many disciplines now subsumed into the rubric Translation Studies, illuminating its dynamic development and widening contexts. Part II: History and Traditions spans 32 geographic, linguistic, or cultural areas, outlining and assessing each of their translation histories and traditions- Africa through to Turkey.

The Translation Studies Reader

This reader aims at the audience group of advanced undergraduates, postgraduates, course instructors, and scholars in translation theory and history, as well as practitioners with a theoretical inclination. The reader is divided into 7 sections in a chronological order. While the first section Foundational Statements examines theories before the 1900s, the last section after the 2000s, all the other five sections in the middle looks into theories in the 1900s. Venuti suggests that readers not only read historically, but also thematically. Readers can group together theories with the same themes. Venuti also suggests that readers can use supplementary readings, and further readings are recommended in each section.

The Routledge Handbook of Chinese Translation

This handbook offers a comprehensive survey of the current state of Chinese translation and the theorization of the contemporary practice of Chinese translation. Most essays in this collection largely borrow translation theory from the West to examine contemporary practice of Chinese translation. This handbook is organized into 8 parts, covering Chinese translation in academic settings, linguistic aspects of Chinese translation, social context of Chinese translation, the process of translation and Chinese interpreting, Chinese literary translation, specialized Chinese translation such as those on law and medicine, changes brought by language technology to Chinese translation, and new developments of Chinese translation.

Translation, Rewriting, and the Manipulation of Literary Fame

This book presents the critical role of rewriting in the dissemination and subsequent acceptance or rejection of literature. Lefevere presents that rewritings, as the new originals, powerfully shape our perceptions of authors, cultures, and societies different from ours. Rewriting includes translation, criticism, and historiography, as well as anthologizing and editing. In the case of translation, it is not merely a linguistic transfer but a cultural process. In this book, Lefevere draws many examples from a wide range of cultures and literatures ranging across Greek, Latin, Dutch, and Islamic texts.

Recommended Databases