It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
TRA3250 News Translation: Home
This course aims to familiarize students with the production and translation of news, and to develop and reinforce students’ skills required for news translation between English and Chinese.
This book considers the ways in which news agencies have developed historically and how they conceive of and employ translation in a global setting. It explores the highly complex set of processes that underpin the interlingual transfer of news items, processes that raise important questions about the boundaries and indeed definition of translation itself. It looks at global communication through an examination of translation practices, both diachronically through an account of the globalization of news in the 19th and 20th centuries, and synchronically in terms of contemporary journalist practice.
This book is aimed at disseminating knowledge about translation and interpreting and providing easy access to a large range of topics, traditions, and methods to a relatively broad audience, including students, researchers and lecturers in Translation Studies, as well as practitioners, scholars and experts from other related disciplines (linguistics, sociology, history, psychology, etc.). Readers of general interest are also target audience of this book. Therefore, this book collects relatively brief overview articles. There are altogether 74 articles arranged in alphabetical order, elaborating important conceptions in Translation Studies, such as Applied Translation Studies, Computer-aided translation, etc.
The Routledge Encyclopedia of Translation Studies has been the standard, highly distinctive reference work in its field since it first appeared in 1968. Many of its features are not found elsewhere, especially its series of short histories of translation. Part I: General surveys the theory and practice of many disciplines now subsumed into the rubric Translation Studies, illuminating its dynamic development and widening contexts. Part II: History and Traditions spans 32 geographic, linguistic, or cultural areas, outlining and assessing each of their translation histories and traditions- Africa through to Turkey.
This database collects 3 handbooks (Handbook of Pragmatics online, Handbook of Translation Studies online, Handbook of Terminology online) and 3 bibliographies (Bibliography of Pragmatics online, Translation studies Bibliography Bibliography of Metaphor and Metonymy). All are in the field of translation and linguistics.
This database abstracts and indexes leading journals in the field of language and linguistics, and provides full text for some of the journals. There are some articles regarding news translation in this database.