Skip to Main Content
The course provides students with both academic and practitioners’ perspectives of economic diplomacy and negotiations through an integrated approach by deploying focused case studies. It does not only address the practices of economic diplomacy, but also highlights the role of economic statecraft in defining how power and influence of nation-states are exercised across the globe in the 21st century. The course will also discuss the strength and weakness of various forms of economic statecraft such as economic sanction, economic assistance, trade war and discuss their effectiveness in the context of globalization and interdependence.
This handbook provides a comprehensive global survey of the policy process. Consisting of 36 essays divided into 9 parts, this book covers all aspects of the policy process including theory- from rational choice to the new institutionalism; frameworks- network theory, the advocacy coalition framework, punctuated equilibrium models and institutional analysis and development theory; key stages in the process- agenda-setting, formulation, decision-making, implementation and evaluation; the roles of key actors and institutions; policy learning and policy dynamics from path dependency to process sequencing. This book is a good assistance in the study of public policy and policy analysis.
This book provides an overview of the possibilities and limits of public sector evaluation. It examines evaluation as a mechanism for monitoring, systematizing, and grading government activities and their results so that public officials, in their future-oriented work, will be able to act as responsibly, creatively, and efficiently as possible. Topics discussed include: Evaluation, Rationality, and Theories of Public Management; Models of Evaluation; Internal or External Evaluation; Impact Assessment as Tryout and Social Experimentation; Process Evaluation and Implementation Theory; The Eight-Problems Approach to Evaluation; and Uses and Users of Evaluation.
This handbook covers and critiques all the key approaches to public policy. Consisting 44 essays divided into 9 parts, the book covers institutional and historical background, modes of policy analysis, the production process, instruments of policy, constraints, policy intervention, commending and evaluation, etc. It touches upon institutional and historical sources and analytical methods, how policy is made, how it is evaluated and how it is constrained, and shows how the combined wisdom of political science as a whole can be brought to bear on political attempts to improve the human condition.
This book draws on social power analyses to develop an analytic framework for evaluating such techniques, and uses it to challenge the conventional view that economic tools of foreign policy do not work. Dealing with questions such as what the various forms of statecraft are, and how one distinguishes economic from noneconomic statecraft, and how economic statecraft has been viewed in the past, and why it has not been analyzed and evaluated the in the same way as other foreign policy tools, the book also reviews classic cases of alleged failure of economic statecraft, and surveys the legal and moral norms relevant to the measures.
This book explores the issue why previous efforts to development assistance repeatedly gained poor fruits. Easterly believes in the positive role of Western assistance in alleviating world poverty. He divides the public policy discourse into two camps – the searchers and the planners – and he shows the relevant merits of the searches in eradicating social ills and the futility of planners to achieve their ambitious goals. Evidence in the book is drawn from not only the plight of underdeveloped countries in Africa, but also the efforts to build a market society in East and Central Europe since 1989. Easterly concludes with ideas for progress against poverty in the developing world.
This book examines the great pressure on developing countries from the developed world to adopt certain “good policies” and “good institutions”, seen today as necessary for economic development. Mainly focusing on economic development from a historical perspective, the book argues that the economic evolution of now-developed countries differed dramatically from the procedures that they now recommend to poorer nations, and concludes that developed countries are attempting to “kick away the ladder” by which they have climbed to the top, thereby preventing developing countries from adopting policies and institutions that they themselves used.
This book is concerned with the difficulties of foreign aid, describing and organizing the foreign aid record of the United States in terms of the allocation of aid among countries of a particular region, which is South and Southeast Asia, and between military and economic programs within the region. It approaches the problem of foreign aid from the standard economic viewpoint of optimizing behavior. Parts One and Two are devoted to a summary of United States assistance programs in Southern Asia from an empirical and historical standpoint. Parts Three and Four considers analytical issues of aid allocation, and the approach is theoretical and abstract.
