LibGuides: GEC3104/HST3104 Tradition and Modernity: Cities in Chinese History (from 16th Century): Home

Peking: Temples and City Life, 1400-1900

By revealing how religious establishments of all kinds were used for fairs, markets, charity, tourism, politics, and leisured sociability, Naquin shows the decisive impact of temples- a place where diverse groups could gather without the imprimatur of family or state- on Peking and, at the same time, illuminates their little-appreciated role in Chinese cities generally. Lacking most of the conventional sources for urban history, she has relied particularly on a trove of commemorative inscriptions that express ideas about the relationship between human beings and gods, about community service and public responsibility, about remembering and being remembered.

Street Culture in Chengdu: Public Space, Urban Commoners, and Local Politics, 1870-1930

This book examines street culture in Chengdu, an under-studied inland city, during the transformative decades between 1870 and 1930, in order to explore various topics: the relationship between urban commoners and public space; the role that community and neighborhood played in public life; how the reform movement and the Republican revolution changed everyday life; and how popular culture and local politics interacted. Drawing on a rich array of Chinese and Western sources—including archives, local newspapers, gazetteers, personal records, folk literature, and field investigation—the author argues that life in public spaces was radically transformed in Chengdu during these eventful years.

中國城市發展史論集

本書從宏觀的角度、在經濟層面上探討中國城市的曲折發展與特殊問題。趙岡指出中國的城市發展經歷了三個階段。第壹階段從先秦到南宋，城市人口增加並呈現向大都市集中的趨勢。第二階段從南宋到19世紀中葉，城市人口比重降落，且呈現城市人口向農村靠攏的趨勢，形成江南地區的眾多市鎮。第三階段從19世紀中葉五口通商以後，現代化的工業逐漸興起，人口向沿海商埠集中，城市人口比重快速回升，翻開了中國城市現代化的篇章。

The Chinese City Between Two Worlds

This book collects twelve essays that examine the role of cities in China’s history from 1842 to 1949, to understand the roots of the Chinese revolution as their urban setting. Most of the essays are case studies, focused on a single region and examining a single theme. The topics are: the treaty ports, the growth of financial institutions, revolutionary mobilization, warlord control, educational development, commercial organizations, social reform, administrative transformation, religious change, and patterns of migration. Special endpaper maps show the distribution in 1930 of some 2000 Chinese cities classified according to size, administrative level, and treaty-port status.

Hong Kong: A Reader in Social History

This book is a collection of essays discussing the social history of Hong Kong. The essays observe the Hong Kong society from the historical perspective, and argue that an understanding of how the Chinese community of Hong Kong was structured must begin with institutions that Chinese people were used to- clan, class, and race, that a Chinese elite emerged and was being taken more and more seriously by the government around 1870s, and that the nationalism appeared in China in the early years of the twentieth century, which the Hong Kong government rightly regarded as a potential threat.

Shanghai Modern: The Flowering of a New Urban Culture in China 1930-1945

This book represents the city of Shanghai in the 1930s as a cultural matrix of Chinese modernity. Part One constructs an urban cultural context of Shanghai Modern based on factual description together with Lee’s own narration from the perspective of cultural production- print culture, cinema, and literary journals. Part Two discusses literary texts that represent modern literary imagination of Shanghai. Selected writers includes, Shi Zhecun, Liu Na'ou, and Mu Shiying, Shao Xunmei, Ye Lingfeng, and Eileen Chang. Part Three provides some general reflections and arguments on the social conditions of the Shanghai Modern. In this part, Lee also invokes the parallels between Hong Kong and Shanghai.

Peking: Temples and City Life, 1400-1900

By revealing how religious establishments of all kinds were used for fairs, markets, charity, tourism, politics, and leisured sociability, Naquin shows the decisive impact of temples- a place where diverse groups could gather without the imprimatur of family or state- on Peking and, at the same time, illuminates their little-appreciated role in Chinese cities generally. Lacking most of the conventional sources for urban history, she has relied particularly on a trove of commemorative inscriptions that express ideas about the relationship between human beings and gods, about community service and public responsibility, about remembering and being remembered.

Street Culture in Chengdu: Public Space, Urban Commoners, and Local Politics, 1870-1930

This book examines street culture in Chengdu, an under-studied inland city, during the transformative decades between 1870 and 1930, in order to explore various topics: the relationship between urban commoners and public space; the role that community and neighborhood played in public life; how the reform movement and the Republican revolution changed everyday life; and how popular culture and local politics interacted. Drawing on a rich array of Chinese and Western sources—including archives, local newspapers, gazetteers, personal records, folk literature, and field investigation—the author argues that life in public spaces was radically transformed in Chengdu during these eventful years.

中國城市發展史論集

本書從宏觀的角度、在經濟層面上探討中國城市的曲折發展與特殊問題。趙岡指出中國的城市發展經歷了三個階段。第壹階段從先秦到南宋，城市人口增加並呈現向大都市集中的趨勢。第二階段從南宋到19世紀中葉，城市人口比重降落，且呈現城市人口向農村靠攏的趨勢，形成江南地區的眾多市鎮。第三階段從19世紀中葉五口通商以後，現代化的工業逐漸興起，人口向沿海商埠集中，城市人口比重快速回升，翻開了中國城市現代化的篇章。

The Chinese City Between Two Worlds

This book collects twelve essays that examine the role of cities in China’s history from 1842 to 1949, to understand the roots of the Chinese revolution as their urban setting. Most of the essays are case studies, focused on a single region and examining a single theme. The topics are: the treaty ports, the growth of financial institutions, revolutionary mobilization, warlord control, educational development, commercial organizations, social reform, administrative transformation, religious change, and patterns of migration. Special endpaper maps show the distribution in 1930 of some 2000 Chinese cities classified according to size, administrative level, and treaty-port status.

Hong Kong: A Reader in Social History

This book is a collection of essays discussing the social history of Hong Kong. The essays observe the Hong Kong society from the historical perspective, and argue that an understanding of how the Chinese community of Hong Kong was structured must begin with institutions that Chinese people were used to- clan, class, and race, that a Chinese elite emerged and was being taken more and more seriously by the government around 1870s, and that the nationalism appeared in China in the early years of the twentieth century, which the Hong Kong government rightly regarded as a potential threat.

Shanghai Modern: The Flowering of a New Urban Culture in China 1930-1945

This book represents the city of Shanghai in the 1930s as a cultural matrix of Chinese modernity. Part One constructs an urban cultural context of Shanghai Modern based on factual description together with Lee’s own narration from the perspective of cultural production- print culture, cinema, and literary journals. Part Two discusses literary texts that represent modern literary imagination of Shanghai. Selected writers includes, Shi Zhecun, Liu Na'ou, and Mu Shiying, Shao Xunmei, Ye Lingfeng, and Eileen Chang. Part Three provides some general reflections and arguments on the social conditions of the Shanghai Modern. In this part, Lee also invokes the parallels between Hong Kong and Shanghai.

Peking: Temples and City Life, 1400-1900

By revealing how religious establishments of all kinds were used for fairs, markets, charity, tourism, politics, and leisured sociability, Naquin shows the decisive impact of temples- a place where diverse groups could gather without the imprimatur of family or state- on Peking and, at the same time, illuminates their little-appreciated role in Chinese cities generally. Lacking most of the conventional sources for urban history, she has relied particularly on a trove of commemorative inscriptions that express ideas about the relationship between human beings and gods, about community service and public responsibility, about remembering and being remembered.

Street Culture in Chengdu: Public Space, Urban Commoners, and Local Politics, 1870-1930

This book examines street culture in Chengdu, an under-studied inland city, during the transformative decades between 1870 and 1930, in order to explore various topics: the relationship between urban commoners and public space; the role that community and neighborhood played in public life; how the reform movement and the Republican revolution changed everyday life; and how popular culture and local politics interacted. Drawing on a rich array of Chinese and Western sources—including archives, local newspapers, gazetteers, personal records, folk literature, and field investigation—the author argues that life in public spaces was radically transformed in Chengdu during these eventful years.

GEC3104/HST3104 Tradition and Modernity: Cities in Chinese History (from 16th Century): Home

Course Description

Recommended Books

Peking: Temples and City Life, 1400-1900

Street Culture in Chengdu: Public Space, Urban Commoners, and Local Politics, 1870-1930

中國城市發展史論集

The Chinese City Between Two Worlds

Hong Kong: A Reader in Social History

Shanghai Modern: The Flowering of a New Urban Culture in China 1930-1945

Peking: Temples and City Life, 1400-1900

Street Culture in Chengdu: Public Space, Urban Commoners, and Local Politics, 1870-1930

中國城市發展史論集

The Chinese City Between Two Worlds

Hong Kong: A Reader in Social History

Shanghai Modern: The Flowering of a New Urban Culture in China 1930-1945

Peking: Temples and City Life, 1400-1900

Street Culture in Chengdu: Public Space, Urban Commoners, and Local Politics, 1870-1930

Recommended Databases

Librarian