Skip to main content

PSY5240 Organizations and Group Processes: Home

Course Description

This course teaches on theory, research, and practice from the field of organisational and social psychology. It draws on different disciplines (e.g. sociology, anthropology, social theory etc) and aims to encourage students to reflect on the social and psychological nature of organizations and work and their importance for individuals, societies and communities. Topics covered include  leadership, decision making, communication, organizational change, and other group processes.

Recommended Books

Psychology in Organizations: The Social Identity Approach

This book summarizes and reviews research and theory in all the major areas of the field of organizational psychology from the general perspective provided by the social identity approach. Social identity here refers to people’s sense of themselves as group members who share goals, values and interests with others. It challenges the dominant view of organizational psychology by examining and explaining the ability of people to define themselves and act not only as “I” but also as “we”. The book presents extensive reviews and critiques of major topics in organizational psychology, including leadership, motivation, communication, decision making, negotiation, power, productivity and collective action.

The Oxford Handbook of Critical Management Studies

This book provides an overview of critical management studies. Part One presents leading theoretical approaches- critical theory, critical realism, post-structuralism, and labor process theory. Part Two considers key topics and issues that have been subjected to critical management study such as organizations, identity, globalization, gender and diversity. Part Three addresses the development of critical studies within specialist disciplines, such as marketing and accounting. Part Four concludes with a range of commentaries on aspects of critical management study that have implications for its future prospects, including the problems and prospects of critical management study.

The Social Organization of Work

This book deals mainly with substantive issues concerning the world of work. Part One provides background material for the study of work, including overview of work in past societies and ways to study work in contemporary society. Part Two deals with our work roles and how these influence our daily lives. Part Three deals with technology and organization of work. Part Four deals with the occupational roles that we hold and with the unique sets of skills that are needed to perform these roles. Part Five focuses on societal-level consequences of the changing nature of work.

The New Psychology of Leadership: Identity, Influence and Power

This book is concerned with the connotation of leadership. It examines the historical work around leadership as well as the monumental greats of well-known politicians. It also examines the recent research work and issues of context, contingency, transaction, and the popular transformational leadership. Then the book proceeds to give an overview of social identity and self‐categorization, comprehensively leading the way for the new theory and stance on leadership, identity (social and group), power, influence, and followership. The book finally concludes with the importance of persuading the reader of the credibility and coherence of an identity of leadership approach.

Quiet: The Power of Introverts in a World That Can’t Stop Talking

This book deals with the power of introverts under the Extrovert Ideal. Part One discusses how extroversion became the cultural ideal, the historical creation of the culture of personality, and the positive characteristics that are attributed to introverts. Part Two discusses the connection between temperament and personality, and studies that have examined the influences of innate, inborn temperament on personality type. Part Three examines the idea that the Extrovert Ideal is an American standard that is not typical in other cultures. Part Four concludes with the discussion on how to communicate with people of the opposite type and how to foster traits rather than force introverted children to be extraverted.

Quiet: The Power of Introverts in a World That Can’t Stop Talking (E-book)

This book deals with the power of introverts under the Extrovert Ideal. Part One discusses how extroversion became the cultural ideal, the historical creation of the culture of personality, and the positive characteristics that are attributed to introverts. Part Two discusses the connection between temperament and personality, and studies that have examined the influences of innate, inborn temperament on personality type. Part Three examines the idea that the Extrovert Ideal is an American standard that is not typical in other cultures. Part Four concludes with the discussion on how to communicate with people of the opposite type and how to foster traits rather than force introverted children to be extraverted.

The McDonaldization of Society

The term McDonaldization is employed to refer to an insidious, tentacular, and ultimately irrational social process driven by the pursuit of maximum efficiency, calculability, predictability, and control. The book begins with an introduction to the conception of McDonaldization and a discussion of its past, present, and future. Then the book proceeds to provide evidence of the four basic dimensions of McDonaldization- efficiency, calculability, predictability, and control. The remainder of the book explores the irrationalities of McDonaldization, how individuals and groups are bothered by McDonaldization, and the continued expansion of McDonaldization primarily under the heading of globalization.

Business Research Methods

This book is focused primarily on methods that are used in areas of business and management, but also concerned with subject areas including organizational behavior, marketing, strategy, organization studies, and human resources management. Part One deals with basic ideas about the nature of business and management research and with the considerations in planning and starting a student research project. Part Two is concerned with quantitative research. Part Three is concerned with qualitative research. Part Four goes beyond the quantitative/qualitative research contrast, such as the combination of quantitative and qualitative research and e-research.

Organizational Ethnography: Studying the Complexities of Everyday Life

This book is aimed at readers interested in organizational studies. Part One describes the steps of organizational ethnography, engages ethnography as a genre of writing, and concerns with the authorial power. Part Two explores problems and challenges around several contradictory pairs that characterize various aspects of this research process: immersion and distance, zooming in and zooming out, participating and observing, and closeness and closure. Part Three covers the engagement with the truth-stretching lies built into ethnographic research, the role of friendship in research relationships, the challenges of moving beyond research toward engaged action, and their own potential complicity in social justice.

Handbook of Research Methods in Industrial and Organizational Psychology

This handbook deals with research philosophies, approaches, tools and techniques indigenous to industrial and organizational psychology. Part One provides the reader with a broad understanding of diverse research approaches/paradigms and key overarching research concepts such as validity and reliability. Part Two discusses traditional, new, and unconventional data-gathering concepts and techniques such as organizational survey research and computational modelling. Part Three presents topics related to handling and analysis of data such as coping with missing data and longitudinal modelling. Part Four concludes with how to successfully write up research results and the key challenges facing organizational researcher as a community.

Handbook of Research Methods in Industrial and Organizational Psychology (E-book)

This handbook deals with research philosophies, approaches, tools and techniques indigenous to industrial and organizational psychology. Part One provides the reader with a broad understanding of diverse research approaches/paradigms and key overarching research concepts such as validity and reliability. Part Two discusses traditional, new, and unconventional data-gathering concepts and techniques such as organizational survey research and computational modelling. Part Three presents topics related to handling and analysis of data such as coping with missing data and longitudinal modelling. Part Four concludes with how to successfully write up research results and the key challenges facing organizational researcher as a community.

Organisation, Interaction and Practice: Studies in Ethnomethodology and Conversation Analysis

This book collects 10 essays to address how to study work and organizations. Themes covered include rules, exchange, practices, identities, formalisms, and knowledge. It starts with framing connections between organization studies and ethnomethodology/conversation analysis. Then it explores how key features of organizational settings are worked into being through episodes of social interaction, as well as the talk of organizational members and the embodied resources that members bring to bear in their work by focusing on aspects of persuasion and sales. It also explores the production of documents in organizational conduct.

Recommeded Databases

Recommended Journals