Skip to main content

TRA3510 Bilingual Corporate Communication: Home

Course Description

The course aims to develop students’ sensitivity of within-culture and between-culture variations in communicative norms in the corporate, and help them improve their writing skills for workplace communication both in Chinese and English.

Recommended Books

商务英语写作实例精解

本书提供了五百多封实例信函,内容涵盖日常商业活动中需要处理的各种业务。第一部分探讨了在当今商务交往中建立关系的重要性。第二部分介绍商务写作的基本原则。第三部分探讨有关电子和网络交流的细节。第四部分介绍询价、报价、订货、开具发票等一次标准商业交易流程中所要用到的往来信函。第五部分收录了内部信函、秘书信函、会议文件、人事信函、报告和建议书的范例。第六部分重点探讨如何写作需要运用创造力和说服力去影响和说服别人的文书。

Effective Organisational Communication: Perspectives, Principles and Practices

The target audience of this book includes undergraduate and postgraduate students taking courses such as communication, professional communication skills, management skills, international management and organizational behavior, as well as students from such disciplines as biological science, computing or engineering. Chapter 1 provides a general overview of the book, and the rest of the book is divided into two parts. Chapters 2 to 7 elaborate on principles of communication, drawing on relevant research findings and real-life case studies. Chapters 8 to 13 review the main communication channels used in today’s organizations. Chapter 14 draws brief conclusions from Chapters 8 to 13, discussing the challenge of evaluating organizational communication.

Intercultural Communication in the Chinese Workplace

This book aims to propose a new research approach to analyzing and explaining intercultural workplace interactions. This new approach consists of two frameworks: an analytical framework, the Multi-Level Model (MLM) for meeting analysis, and an explanatory framework, Cultural Self Perception (CSP). After an introductory chapter, Chapter 2 and Chapter 3 introduces the two theoretical frameworks respectively. Chapter 4 focuses on the management crisis at SITE. Chapter 5 describes and compares the conflict management strategies of the Chinese and expatriate participants at the problematic meeting. Chapters 6 to 9 focus on the investigation of intercultural differences in relational strategies for “problem talk”. Chapter 10 summarizes the findings and points future directions.

Intercultural Discourse and Communication: The Essential Readings

This book is a collection of articles from the field of intercultural discourse and intercultural communication. It contains introductory readings for courses that involve the study of how language use varies from culture to culture, and how knowledge of these differences can be put to work to help understand differences and dominance relations between cultures. Part One provides foundational and new theoretical readings. Part Two provide case studies of cultural and sub-cultural contact from around the globe applying these perspectives. Part Three provide views of cultural contact and identity. Part Four provide applications to “real world” implications of intercultural contact and conflict.

Intercultural Competence: Interpersonal Communication across Cultures

This book provides ideas and information that help achieve competence in intercultural communication. The text provides a discussion of important ethical and social issues relating to intercultural communication. Part One introduces the notion of communication, culture and competence, the five imperatives for attaining intercultural competence, different forms of communication, United States as an intercultural community, etc. Part Two is devoted to an analysis of the fundamental ways that cultures vary. Part Three focuses on verbal and nonverbal messages, which are central to the communication process. Part Four emphasizes the associations that form among people as a result of their shared communication experiences.

Exploring Professional Communication: Language in Action

This book addresses the nature of professional communication and why it should be studies, as well as outlining the fundamental topics relevant for an understanding of the area, from an applied linguistics approach. It leads the reader from real-world problems and issues, through a discussion of intervention and how to engage with these concerns, before finally relating these practical issues to theoretical foundations. The book is divided into eight chapters, each dealing with a specific area of professional communication, such as definition of professional communication, genres of professional communication, workplace culture, culture and politeness at work, identities at work, gender, and leadership.

The Situated Organization: Case Studies in the Pragmatics of Communication Research

This book explores recent research in organizational communication. Chapter 1 shows that the making of sense is intrinsically both acting and structuring. Chapter 2 recognizes the fundamental role of framing a situation and the frame games it inspires. Chapter 3 delves into the importance of language on the link from action to structure. Chapters 4 through 8 aim to illustrate and deepen the understanding of how organization gets realized in the everyday activities of people in widely differing environments, including a government-sponsored program of science awareness, a large construction company, a giant high-tech firm, a pharmaceutical firm, and an oil patch. Chapter 9 summarizes the conclusions.

Recommended Databases