Skip to main content

English Studies: Home

Recommended Books

Practical Phonetics and Phonology: A Resource Book for Students

This book concentrates on practical rather than theoretical aspects of phonetics and phonology. The book is divided into 4 sections. Section A introduces some basic concepts such as phoneme. Section B closely studies the phonetics of English such as vowels and consonants, stress and intonation. Section C explores English in a selection of its many varieties of accents, from Dublin to Delhi, from Scotland to Singapore. Development of English over the centuries, especially its pronunciation change, is also examined. Section D extends further by means of a selection of writings about phonetics by well-known experts in the field.

Pronunciation for Advanced Learners of English

This book for advanced learners takes a discourse-based approach to the study of English pronunciation and intonation with a combination of pronunciation theory and practice. This book encourages learners to examine the sound system of English in the context of connected speech and provides an accessible description of the communicative function of intonation. It offers not only meaningful practice activities interspersed with clear explanations of discourse intonation theory, but also a procedure for self-diagnosis with individual problem sounds supported by practice exercises. Additionally, it offers ear-training to make students more sensitive to the role of intonation in communication.

The Art of Public Speaking

This book is informed by classical and contemporary theories of rhetoric. In the meantime, it also presents practical skills of public speaking- it offers full coverage of all major aspects of speech preparation and presentation. This book offers a large number of narratives, speech excerpts, and full sample speeches that illustrate the principles of effective public speaking. It relies heavily on examples that relate directly to students’ classroom needs and experiences. A large number of illustrations drawn from the kinds of speaking experiences students will face after they graduate from college are also included.

Blueprints for Writing: Building Essays

This is a textbook that teaches essay writing by guiding readers through each step of the essay plan, or blueprint. The book is divided into seven parts. Part 1 reviews the writing process. Part 2 explores different modes of writing. Part 3 presents the process of writing prompts based on critical reading. Part 4 presents a thorough explanation of the parts of speech. Part 5 provides explanation and practice to help readers avoid grammatical pitfalls. Part 6 deals with punctuation, mechanics, and spelling issues. Part 7 focuses on different types of sentences.

Making Sense: A Student’s Guide to Research and Writing

Beginning with writing and thinking, the book moves to the steps and strategies of writing an essay. Three chapters are contributed to the writing of book report, lab report and business report respectively. Then the book moves to discuss using illustrations and documenting sources. It worth noting that two chapters are devoted to giving an oral presentation and writing examinations respectively. The book also discusses writing a resume and letter of application. Writing style and punctuation is mentioned as well. This edition also points out some of the most common errors in student composition and suggests how to avoid or correct them.

Academic Writing and Grammar for Students

This book surveys basic concepts behind the grammar of academic English and the conventions of academic writing. It discusses techniques that are vital for improving the quality of the sentences and paragraphs, and arguments that use evidence and logic to reach a conclusion and develop critical thinking. The objective is to develop effective essay writing, and make the readers aware of the common mistakes or issues that can often lead to lost marks. There are nine chapters altogether, covering basic conventions of academic writing; basic grammatical concepts; putting sentence together; putting paragraphs together; critical thinking; referencing; conciseness and clarity; common mistakes and how to deal with them; and proofreading.

A Writer’s Handbook: Developing Writing Skills for University Students

This book is written collaboratively by writing instructors at the Queen’s University Writing Center. It outlines strategies both for thinking assignments through and for writing them well. The book begins with comprehension of the assignment, and then discusses gathering and organizing material. Next, the book focuses on paragraphs, such as the length, the focus and coherence, etc. Then the focus is shifted to writing styles, essential grammar, and punctuation. Then in the “Documentation” chapter, the book discusses plagiarism and citation. The last two chapters are devoted to business writing and sciences writing respectively.

How to Write a Sentence and How to Read One

This book offers an approach to thinking about sentence, this fundamental unit of written and spoken language. Not a manual, not a handbook, not a textbook, this slim volume is a more of a philosophical treatise, a careful and thoughtful reflection on prose style. Rather than disseminating "how to" knowledge, Fish exposes readers to a sensibility – a consciousness of and sensitivity to style. Fish hopes to teach the fundamental motions of sentence structure that enable thought and meaning. The book dissects the good sentence and teaches the reader how to reconstruct it.

Writing Tools: 55 Essential Strategies for Every Writer

While in the original edition, 50 writing tools are shared with the readers, this 10th anniversary edition includes five brand new, never-before-shared tools- now the readers are instructed with altogether 55 tools in this guide to writing. At the end of each tool, readers will find a set of workshop questions and exercises. Organized into four sections, “Nuts and Bolts,” “Special Effects,” “Blueprints for Stories,” and “Useful Habits,” this book is infused with more than 200 examples from journalism and literature. The source includes great works on writing, the authors whose works are sampled in this book, conversations with professional writers and editors, and America’s great writing teachers.

Recommended Databases