Skip to Main Content
This course on Western and Chinese poetry aims to complicate and problematize the question of “love” in relation to emotion, desire, imagination, memory, self, metaphor, metonym, allegory, poetics, aesthetics, mythology, religion, society, politics, culture, etc. Students will read both Western canons of Greco-Roman epic and poetry, Medieval ballads, Renaissance sonnets, Romantic verses and Modernist poems as well as Chinese classics of The Book of Odes, Chu verses, Tang- Song poetry, Song lyrics, Ming-Qing poetry and lyrics, and Modern poetry.
This Norton edition of the English Bible of King James Version consists of 3 parts- the Old Testament, the New Testament, and the so-called Apocrypha, miscellaneous writings from the Hellenistic period that never achieved the status of sacred scripture among the Jewish communities of Babylonia and Palestine. The historical and critical appendix comprises three distinct collections. It includes reflections on the Bible by philosophers from Hobbes to Ricoeur; a compendium of modern biblical scholarship, focusing on topics such as the oral and the written, the composition of the Pentateuch, and the historical movement from covenant to canon; and a provocative sampling of comparative and literary approaches.
This selection of Byron’s works includes the complete texts of Childe Harold’s Pilgrimage, The Giaour, The Prisoner of Chillon, Manfred, Beppo, and The Vision of Judgment, and over half of Don Juan (with complete cantos I, III, V, XI, XIII, and XVII), along with more than eighty of Byron’s letters and journal entries. The texts are arranged into four clearly-defined periods of Byron’s life, which are Early Years and First Pilgrimage, Years of Fame in Regency Society, Exile on Lake Geneva, and Final pilgrimage- Italy and Greece. The criticism offers both important nineteenth-century responses to Bryon and major recent studies.
Inferno is an epic poem written by the Italian poet Dante. It is the first part of Dante’s poem Divine Comedy, the second and third part of which are Purgatorio and Paradiso. Inferno describes Dante’s journey through the Hell, guided by the ancient Roman poet Virgil. The Inferno has nine circles of torment in a concentric form, representing a gradual increase in wickedness, and sinners being punished in each circle committed crimes of being heretic, lustful, gluttonous, avaricious, wrathful, heretics, warmongers, flatterers, and treachery. Eventually, Dante and Virgil escaped from Hell and went on to Purgatory.
This book is a collection of John Donne’s poetry. The texts are divided into five sections- Satires, Elegies, Verse Letters to Several Personages, Songs and Sonnets, and Divine Poems. The Criticism is divided into four sections- Donne and Metaphysical Poetry includes seventeenth-century views on Donne and his style; Satires, Elegies, and Verse Letters includes seven selections that offer social and literary context for and insights into Donne’s frequently overlooked early poems; Songs and Sonnets features six analyses of Donne’s love poetry; and Holy Sonnets/Divine Poems explores Donne’s struggles as a Christian through four authoritative essays.
The Odyssey begins ten years after the end of the Trojan War, but Odysseus, king of Ithaca, has still not returned. In his absence, Odysseus is assumed to have died, due to which his wife Penelope and son Telemachus must deal with a group of unruly suitors. After ten years of adventure on the sea, experiencing Polyphemus- the one-eyed giant son of Poseidon, Aeolus- a king endowed by the gods with the winds, Laestrygonians- a tribe of man-eating giants, Circe- daughter of the sun-god Helios, Sirens, and Calypso, Odyssey finally returns to Ithaca, kills all the suitors, and reclaims his wife and household.
Paradise Lost is an epic poem written by the 17th-century English poet John Milton. The poem represents the biblical story of the Fall of Man- Adam and Eva fall under the temptation by the fallen angel Satan, and are expelled from the Paradise Eden. The first edition, published in 1667, consists of ten books with over ten thousand lines of verse. A second edition followed in 1674, arranged into twelve books with minor revisions throughout. This book adopts the 1674 edition, with emendations and adoptions from the first edition and the scribal manuscript. Spelling and punctuation have been modernized.
Metamorphoses is an epic-length poem by the Roman poet Ovid. The theme of the book is metamorphoses, namely, human beings transformed into animals, plants, stars, stones, etc, based on Pythagoras’ teaching of metempsychosis, or “the transmigration of souls”. This poem begins with the creation of the world, and ends with Rome in Ovid’s own time. It consists of some 250 stories divided into 15 Books, most of which are love stories. Some of the stories are widely known, such as the story of Jupiter, the story of Oedipus and the story of Medea.
This book presents a comprehensive selection of Yeats’s major contributions in literary works, including 145 poems from 13 poetry collections- from Crossways (1889) through Last Poems (1939). Besides, 4 plays, prose fiction and folklore writings from The Celtic Twilight, The Secret Rose, and Stories of Red Hanrahan, autobiographical writings from Reveries over Childhood and Youth (1916) through the posthumously published Memoirs (1972), and selections from his most important critical writings are also collected in this book. This book also includes critical responses to Yeats’s work by his contemporaries and by major recent critics, altogether 24 interpretive essays.
Petrarch was an Italian poet best known for his collection of Italian lyric poetry dedicated to his beloved Laura. Besides, he has also made great contribution in the field of religious studies and philosophy. This book collects essays that view Petrarch’s life through his works. It is divided into six parts- Lives of Petrarch, Petrarch’s works in Italian, Petrarch’s works in Latin, Petrarch’s interlocutors, Petrarch’s Afterlife, plus a concluding chapter. Particular attention is given to Petrarch’s profound influence on the Humanist movement and on the courtly cult of vernacular love poetry.
This book covers the traditional categories of Shakespeare study- his life, times and work. Twenty-one essays provide lively and authoritative approaches to recent scholarship and criticism. Individual readings of the plays are given in the context of genre including poems, comedies, tragedies, English history plays, classical plays, tragicomedies, as well as through the cultural and historical perspectives of race, sexuality and gender, and politics and religion. Essays on performance survey the latest digital media as well as stage and film. The reception of Shakespeare, the relation between Shakespeare and popular culture, as well as the globalization of Shakespeare are also examined.
本書對中國文學進行了源流探討、作家評介和掌故考證。依次論講《詩經》、春秋戰國散文、《楚辭》、先秦神話與寓言、漢賦、漢代散文、漢代詩歌、魏代文學、兩晉詩歌、南朝文學、南朝詩人、北朝文學、魏晉南北朝小說、初唐詩、盛唐詩、中唐詩、晚唐詩、唐代散文、唐代傳奇與變文、晚唐五代詞、北宋詞、南宋詞、宋詩、宋代散文、宋代話本與諸宮調、元代散曲、元代雜劇、明代文學思想與散文、明代散曲、明代傳奇、明代小說、清代詩文、清代詞曲、清代小說。
本书记录了作者对诗的独到见解。开篇第一章讨论了自《诗经》起至今中国诗体的演进。其后的篇章分析了《古诗十九首》的时代问题，并对《古诗十九首》进行了解析；谈论了陶渊明的“任真”与“固穷”；谈论了杜甫七律的演进和成就，并着重赏析了《赠李白》诗一首；赏析了李商隐的《嫦娥》以及《燕台》四首。最后几篇依次为用西方现代文学批评理论评析中国旧诗、为周梦蝶诗集《还魂草》所作序、从几首咏花诗生出的诗思、由《人间词话》谈到诗歌的欣赏。
本书所论乃是作者读词时的心得和感动，与之后她受西方文论之影响，偏向理论探讨的论词之作大有不同。本书从王国维《人间词话》的三种境界谈起，谈论成大事业大学问者追求理想时的向往心情、艰苦经历和满足喜乐。继而赏析温庭筠、韦庄、冯延巳、李后主等各位词人的风格特色，兼论晚唐五代词在意境方面的演进和拓展。也对晏殊词进行了赏析，并谈论了吴梦窗词现代化的特色。最后是对静安词《浣溪沙》一首的赏析。
本书收录叶嘉莹论诗文稿十五篇，还收入了缪钺所写的一篇题记和叶嘉莹附写的一篇后叙。本书从诗歌触引人生感发的本质出发，文中所涉诗篇从《诗经》始，至《古诗十九首》、陶渊明、谢灵运、柳宗元、李商隐，对中国古典诗歌中的重要作品和重要作家作了“传记的”、“史观的”、“现代的”深入探讨，再现了其知人论世，以意逆志，纵观古今，融贯中西的论诗方法及从主观到客观、从感性到知性、从欣赏到理论、从为己到为人的研读态度与写作方式的转变过程。
本书共收论文八篇，大多以论说作品为主，对各篇词作都有较详的论说和赏析。作者有意选择了一些不崇高不完美的作品，认为衡量优秀词作应当以其感发之生命在本质方面的价值为主，而不应只着眼于其外表所叙写的情事，借以成就扭转学界偏见之功，如晏殊、吴文英、王沂孙等人品略有缺憾的作家及其被某些目为晦涩不通的毁誉参半之作均被目为评赏对象。二篇理论探讨文字则对花间词派及王国维的境界说都做出了深入的探究。
本书共收论文六篇。第一篇《迦陵随笔》共有十五则，所谈的主要仍是传统的词学，但先后应用了不少如诠释学、符号学、语言学、现象学和接受美学等多种西方的文论。其他五篇词论也都引用了不少新的西方文论，因此同编为一集。叶嘉莹以其深厚的传统文化修养与西方理论基础，在王国维的《人间词话》的基础上做了进一步拓展，以现代观念和理论为工具，对传统词学进行了科学的开发与归纳，建立起一个适合现代人理解的词学理论新框架。
本书的起源是叶嘉莹与缪钺合撰的《灵谿词说》，共收入论文十七篇，除第一篇《论词的起源》以外，以下依时代先后分别论述了温庭筠、韦庄、冯延巳、李璟、李煜、晏殊、欧阳修、柳永、晏几道、苏轼、秦观、周邦彦、陆游、辛弃疾、吴文英及王沂孙共十六位名家的词作。对各个作家的论述中既注意揭示其各自的特点、在词史中的地位，又注意寻绎其间纵横交织的联系与演进，是作者论词著作中论说最具系统、探讨也最为深入的一本书。
本书共收论文十一篇，各文稿的时间与地域跨度较大，第一篇原是一篇讲演稿，其他篇分别从《清词名家论集》等处收入。作者以罕见的鸿篇长论淋漓地论证了四位巨子——云间词派代表人物陈子龙、浙西词派创始人朱彝尊、词坛巨擘纳兰性德、常州词派领袖张惠言——在清词发展史的地位及价值，并借以展示清代词苑的繁盛景象。而对张惠言与王国维论词方式不同点的探究及对传统词学与王国维词论在西方理论之观照中的反思，则展示了清代词学的巨大成就。
作者历二十年之久，先后搜集了自宋迄清的杜诗注本五十三家、版本七十种，考订异同，对诗歌内容、形式作了精细的说明。本书卷首列有引用书目，然后对《秋兴》八诗作了“编年”、“题解”、“章法及大旨”的各种说明，并将此八诗各分别为四联，以每一联为单位，按各种不同版本详加征引后做了详尽的按语，是为“集说”。本书原为20世纪60年代中期叶嘉莹在台湾各大学讲授“杜甫诗”专属课程时所撰写，也融入了作者授课之体会。
本书是一册旧著，完稿于20世纪70年代初期，是叶嘉莹在哈佛大学时所作。本书分为两编，第一编为“王国维的生平”，又分为两章，第二编为“王国维的文学批评”，又分为三章，全书以王国维之性格及其所生之时代为线索，探讨其治学途径的转变——由早期致力于西方哲学和文学的研究转向后期致力于古文字、古器物、古史地的考证研究，及在学生盛年遽尔轻声的原因，并对其以《人间词话》为代表的文学批评做出了恰切的评价。
本书收集叶嘉莹所写的杂文七十篇，另附有口述杂文成册，大多是应亲友之嘱而写的一些文字，其间有一大部分是“序言”，另有一些则是悼念的文字，口述杂文大多是访谈的记录，或应友人之请而由叶嘉莹讲述后再由学生记录的文字，是首次将叶嘉莹先生的散文、信函、序言、铭文、讲演提要等杂文汇集出版，有助于读者全面了解叶先生的生活与交游之情状、为人与治学之襟期，深切感悟叶先生的学识与风范，并感受叶先生的纯真情怀与高尚品格。
本書編選了研究中國抒情傳統這一學術思潮的學者的作品中可以歸入這個學術形態的最有代表性的論文，劃分了九個方面，分別是屬於原論部分的（一）抒情傳統的文化淵源、（二）抒情傳統的語文問題、（三）抒情傳統的開啟，屬於本論部分的（四）抒情傳統中的自我、（五）抒情傳統與「詩的時間」、（六）、抒情傳統與文學形式，以及屬於廣論部分的（七）抒情傳統的跨文類版圖、（八）抒情理論的建構與再構、（九）抒情傳統學術思潮的反思。
本書是作者王德威對抒情傳統與現代性這一話題的研究，共收錄了四篇文章。〈「有情」的歷史——抒情傳統與中國文學現代性〉一文以沈從文、陳世驤以及捷克漢學家普實克為坐標，縱論多年中外學界對抒情話語的辯證與問難，洞見與不見；另外三篇〈史詩時代的抒情聲音〉〈國家不幸書家幸〉〈抒情與背叛〉則分別以江文也、臺靜農、胡蘭成為焦點，思考抒情的理念淵源、媒介形式、今昔對話、政治條件、個人抉擇。作者提出，應當從歷史經驗的脈絡中觀察抒情之傳統。
Reflecting on a series of moments in Chinese writing from the seventh century B.C. to the early nineteenth century, this book shows how the fascination with the past came into being in Chinese literature, some of the forms it took, and the ways readers have responded to such literature. The book cites seventeenth poems in full dating from Zhou, Han Qin, Southern Dynasties, Tang and Yuan, with a predominance of the Tang poems. On the prose side, ten pieces dating from Zhou, Qin, Song, Ming and Qing are cited in this book. Besides, anecdotes and exegeses are also employed to represent the theme of the book.
This book investigates the metaphorical nature of poetic language, highlighting the central figures of reality and meaning in both Eastern and Western thought: the Tao and the Logos. It provides commentary on the rich traditions of poetry and poetics in ancient China; equally illuminating are the astute analyses of Western poets such as Rilke, Shakespeare, and Mallarmé and the critical engagement with the work of Foucault, Derrida, and de Man, among others. The author develops a powerful cross-cultural and interdisciplinary hermeneutic analysis that relates individual works of literature not only to their respective cultures, but to a combined worldview where East meets West.
