This course introduces the theories and research in the field of cognitive psychology. It covers conventional cognitive psychology knowledge pertaining to how the mind works. Topics include attention and perception, mental imagery, consciousness, information processing, learning and memory, representation of knowledge, concepts and reasoning, attention, and computational approaches to cognition.
This book provides comprehensive yet accessible coverage of all the key areas in the field of cognitive psychology, including visual perception and attention, memory, language, thinking and reasoning, and emotion and consciousness. In view of the interdependence of all aspects of the cognitive system, how each process depends on other processes and structures is emphasized. This eighth edition includes an increased emphasis on neuroscience, updated references to reflect the latest research, and applied ‘in the real world’ case studies and examples. Each chapter is complete with key definitions, practical real-life applications, chapter summaries and suggested further reading.
This book is an introductory text to all the key areas of cognition, including perception, attention, memory, thinking and language. Contents on related clinical disorders, such as agnosia, amnesia, thought disorder and aphasia also helps to provide an insight into the nature of cognition. A chapter covering the effects of emotion on cognitive processes is also presented. This third edition provides a comprehensive overview of current thinking in the field, and features chapter summaries, further reading, and a glossary of key terms, as well as a companion website providing online resources.
This book provides a guide to cognitive function and its assessment. Topics covered include cognition in the brain (such as attention and memory), focal representation (such as language, praxis and spatial abilities), major syndromes encountered in clinical practice, and taking a patient's history and performing cognitive testing. This third edition includes essential updates on areas such as the pathology and genetics of frontotemporal dementia, social cognition and major syndromes encountered in clinical practice such as delirium, and the latest version of Addenbrooke's Cognitive Examination III (ACE-III), and 16 case histories on a variety of cognitive disorders illustrating the method of assessment and how to use the ACE-III in clinical practice.
This book updates the theory that a way of thinking about working memory Baddeley and Hitch proposed some 30 years ago, discussing both the evidence in its favour, and alternative approaches. In addition, it discusses the implications of the model for understanding social and emotional behaviour, concluding with an attempt to place working memory in a broader biological and philosophical context. The first section takes on the task of surveying the last 20 years of research on working memory. The second attempts to place the concept of working memory in a broader context, looking for links with the study of social behavior, emotion, conscious awareness and the control of action.
This book addresses various aspects of forgetting, drawing from several disciplines. The first chapters of the book discuss the history of forgetting, its theories and accounts, the difference between short-term and long-term forgetting as well as the relevance of forgetting within each of the numerous components of memory taxonomy. The central part summarizes and discusses what we have learned about forgetting from animal work, from computational modeling, and from neuroimaging. Further chapters discuss pathological forgetting in patients with amnesia and epilepsy, as well as psychogenic forgetting. The book concludes by focusing on the difference between forgetting of autobiographical memories versus collective memory forgetting.
This book reviews recent research in the application of cognitive methods, theories, and models. It explores all of the major areas of cognitive psychology, including attention, perception, memory, thinking and decision making, as well as some of the factors that affect cognitive processes, such as drugs and biological cycles. The order in which the chapters are presented reflects the sequential order in which the various aspects of cognition tend to occur, so the early chapters are concerned with the initial uptake of information, followed by chapters dealing with information storage, and then chapters about the use of stored information.
This book explores the key theories and evidence in consciousness studies ranging from neuroscience and psychology to quantum theories and philosophy. It examines why the term 'consciousness' has no recognised definition and provides an opportunity to delve into personal intuitions about the self, mind, and consciousness. Topics covered include: Why the problem of consciousness is so hard Neuroscience and the neural correlates of consciousness; Why we might be mistaken about our own minds The apparent difference between conscious and unconscious; Theories of attention, free will, and self and other; The evolution of consciousness in animals and machines; Altered states from meditation to drugs and dreaming.
This book provides a well-balanced overview of current scholarship spanning the full breadth of the rapidly developing and expanding field of thinking and reasoning. Topics covered include deduction, induction, abduction, judgment, decision making, argumentation, problem solving, expertise, creativity, and rationality. The contributors engage with cutting-edge debates such as the status of dual-process theories of thinking, the role of unconscious, intuitive, emotional and metacognitive processes in thinking, and the importance of probabilistic conceptualisations of thinking and reasoning. The importance of neuroscientific findings in informing theoretical developments is also examined, so as the situated nature of thinking and reasoning across a range of real-world contents such as mathematics, medicine and science.
Address:
2001 Longxiang Blvd., Longgang District,
Shenzhen, Guangdong, China
Tel: (0755)23515151 (University Library)
Email: library@cuhk.edu.cn
on WeChat
on Bilibili
