This course aims to develop students’ legal English writing skills in relation to business law and practice. Students will learn to draft legal documentation required for forming a company, document company meetings (e.g., board meetings and shareholders’ meetings), draft resolutions, and draft marketing agreements (such as agency agreements, distribution agreements, franchising agreements, and joint venture agreements). They will also learn to write professional letters and emails in legal contexts. Apart from developing students’ writing skills, this course also intends to raise students’ awareness of the various genres in legal discourse.
This book is the first study to truly delve into the language of Law School to reveal the complexities of how this process takes place. Mertz argues that moving away from moral frameworks represents an underlying worldview at the core not just of law education, but for better or worse, of the entire US legal system - which, while providing a useful source of legitimacy and a means to process conflict, fails to deal systematically with aspects of fairness and social justice. The latter part of her study shows how differences in race and gender makeup among law students and professors can subtly alter this process.
This book slices through the thicket of legalese, explaining where it comes from, why lawyers continue to cling to it, and why it doesn’t have to be an inevitable feature of our legal system. Part One begins by discussing the history of legal English. Part Two focuses on whether and to what extent legal English differs from ordinary language. Part Three focuses on the versatility of legal language in the courtroom. Part Four discusses efforts to make the instructions that judges give to juries at the end of a trial more comprehensible.
This is a handbook that focuses on English for legal communication. The book commences with an introduction to the English language which provides insights into the development of legal English, the difficulties of the language and the key differences between British and American usage. The first section focuses on writing clear and accurate legal documents and letters in English. The second section covers the key situations in which legal and business professionals use oral communication. The third section focuses on the language used in international business contracts. The book concludes with glossaries that explain the meaning of different kinds of words and phrases often found in legal and business English.
This book is a guide to improving language skills from the classroom to the courtroom. The first part focuses on reading and writing for law, and the second part covers speaking and listening skills for both students and professionals. Topics covered include the study of law and academic writing; legal writing in practice; drafting of legal documents for business, commerce and court; presentation skills; interviewing and advising; negotiation; advocacy. This second edition has been updated to cover all aspects of language as used in a legal context where effective communication is crucial to both academic and professional success.
Using a process-based approach instead of a document-based approach, this book presents writing as a logical sequence of steps. Concepts are introduced at the points where they become relevant to a writer’s process of creating and communicating content. This eighth edition has updated the process of writing a legal memo to include material on e-memos, and has added information about the Native American tribes, the third sovereign entity in the United States. The citation chapter has been edited to reflect the rules in the new editions of the ALWD Guide to Legal Citation and The Bluebook.
This book emphasizes the skills and issues that paralegals encounter in practice. Part One covers Primary Authorities, Part Two discusses Secondary Authorities, and Part Three covers the basics of Legal Writing. In addition, Bouchoux integrates writing strategies into each research chapter to demonstrate the link between the two processes. The text thoroughly explains proper citation form and updating/validating legal authorities. The Legal Writing section includes samples of legal writing, such as letters, a court brief and a legal memorandum. This ninth edition provides extensive new coverage of the increasing use of artificial intelligence in legal research and writing.
Address:
2001 Longxiang Blvd., Longgang District,
Shenzhen, Guangdong, China
Tel: (0755)23515151 (University Library)
Email: library@cuhk.edu.cn
on WeChat
on Bilibili
