This handbook provides a comprehensive global survey of the policy process. Consisting of 36 essays divided into 9 parts, this book covers all aspects of the policy process including theory- from rational choice to the new institutionalism; frameworks- network theory, the advocacy coalition framework, punctuated equilibrium models and institutional analysis and development theory; key stages in the process- agenda-setting, formulation, decision-making, implementation and evaluation; the roles of key actors and institutions; policy learning and policy dynamics from path dependency to process sequencing. This book is a good assistance in the study of public policy and policy analysis.
This book provides an overview of the possibilities and limits of public sector evaluation. It examines evaluation as a mechanism for monitoring, systematizing, and grading government activities and their results so that public officials, in their future-oriented work, will be able to act as responsibly, creatively, and efficiently as possible. Topics discussed include: Evaluation, Rationality, and Theories of Public Management; Models of Evaluation; Internal or External Evaluation; Impact Assessment as Tryout and Social Experimentation; Process Evaluation and Implementation Theory; The Eight-Problems Approach to Evaluation; and Uses and Users of Evaluation.
This handbook covers and critiques all the key approaches to public policy. Consisting 44 essays divided into 9 parts, the book covers institutional and historical background, modes of policy analysis, the production process, instruments of policy, constraints, policy intervention, commending and evaluation, etc. It touches upon institutional and historical sources and analytical methods, how policy is made, how it is evaluated and how it is constrained, and shows how the combined wisdom of political science as a whole can be brought to bear on political attempts to improve the human condition.
This book provides empirical substance to the debate about the meaning of the national interest, the importance of bureaucratic politics, and the influence of business on American foreign policy. Fifteen case studies drawn from extensive public records and published literature on American raw materials policy in the twentieth-century are provided. By arguing that the state is an autonomous entity acting on behalf of the national interest, and that the state behavior cannot be explained by group or class interest, Krasner challenges the two dominant and rival interpretations of the relationship between state and society- liberalism and Marxism.
This book offers a survey of the neoclassical realist approaches to states’ grand strategies through 10 essays. It examines the central role of the state and seeks to explain why, how, and under what conditions the internal characteristics of states intervene between their leaders’ assessments of international threats and opportunities, and the actual diplomatic, military, and foreign economic policies those leaders are likely to pursue. Questions reflected upon in this book fall into three groups- the politics of threat assessment, the politics of strategic adjustment, and the politics of resource extraction, domestic mobilization, and policy implementation.
Address:
2001 Longxiang Blvd., Longgang District,
Shenzhen, Guangdong, China
Tel: (0755)23515151 (University Library)
Email: library@cuhk.edu.cn
on WeChat
on Bilibili