This is an undergraduate survey-level course on personality and individual differences. It is designed to give students an overview of current research status, major themes/topics as well as ongoing debate and future directions in the field of personality psychology. In contrast to abnormal psychology, this course primarily concerns on normal and exceptional personalities, their origins and development over the life course, the underlying processes and mechanisms that define them, and the implications of personality for adaptations (e.g., subjective well-being, physical health, and academic success) at various ecological levels (e.g., intrapersonal, interpersonal, and groups) and in a wide array of contexts (e.g., close relationships, organizations, workplaces, and schools). The course will also introduce both classic and contemporary prominent theories of personality (e.g., biological and evolutionary approaches, psychodynamic approaches, behavioral and learning approaches, social and social-cognitive approaches). In addition, research methods (e.g., research designs, data collection methods, and data analytic strategies) will also be covered in this course.
Dealing with methodological approaches, this book covers conceptual and practical issues in research design in the field of social and personality psychology. Key experts address specific methods and areas of research, contributing to a comprehensive overview of contemporary practice. After an introductory chapter that concerns why we do research, the book successively discusses the design and inference considerations, procedural possibilities, and data analytic strategies. This updated and expanded second edition offers current commentary on social and personality psychology, reflecting the rapid development of this dynamic area of research over the past decade.
This book not only introduces theoretical explanations of personality, but also covers research that illuminates how those theories are relevant in daily life. The beginning two chapters focus on the definition and research methods of personality, and the following chapters introduce different approaches to the study of personality, such as the psychoanalytic approach, the Freudian approach, the trait approach, the biological approach, the humanistic approach, the behavioral/social learning approach, and the cognitive approach. The introduction of these approaches cover theories, applications and assessment, and relevant research for each theoretical perspective.
This book addresses all aspects of theory, research, and treatment, including vital information to guide clinical decision making on personality disorders (PDs). Part One explores conceptual and taxonomic concerns, critically examining DSM-5 diagnostic criteria and reviewing the status of alternative models. Parts Two, Three, and Four present state-of-the-art work on the psychopathology; epidemiology, course, and onset; and causes of PDs. Part Five discusses diagnosis and assessment. Part Six probles the validity and clinical utility of specific diagnoses. Part Seven covers intervention, now with a stronger focus on evidence-based treatments. The second edition features integrative section introductions that highlight common themes and key issues.
This handbook provides a comprehensive exploration of the major developments of social psychological theories that have taken place over the past half-century, culminating in a state-of-the-art overview of the primary theories and models that have been developed in this field. Each chapter represents a personal and historical narrative of the theory’s development, including the inspirations, critical junctures, and problem-solving efforts that have affected the choices made in each theory’s evolution as well as the impact each has had on the canon of social psychology. The book also illustrates how the various theories contribute to understanding and solving critical social issues and problems.
This book demonstrates how scientists approach the study of personality. Major findings, both classical and contemporary, are presented in the context of six key domains—Dispositional (traits, trait taxonomies, and personality dispositions over time), Biological (physiology, genetics, evolution), Intrapsychic (psychodynamics, motives), Cognitive-Experiential (cognition, emotion, and the self), Social and Cultural (social interaction, gender, and culture), and Adjustment (stress, coping, health, and personality disorder), providing a foundation for the analysis and understanding of human personality. The authors argue that the domains of knowledge should be viewed as complementary rather than conflicting.
This book takes a unique "theory-by-theory" approach in the field of personality. After an introductory part to the discipline, the book subsequently covers the Freud’s psychoanalytic theory and the neoanalytic theories of Jung, Adler, Horney, Erikson, and Kohut, the major theories of Allport, Cattell, and Eysenck, George Kelly’s theory of personal constructs, theories by Maslow, Rogers, and May, and theories of Skinner, Rotter, and Bandura. It concludes by noting the ways in which the different theories stimulate additional research efforts and by presenting five current research trends resulting from the work of these earlier theorists. This tenth edition includes the latest research studies that show support for the theories。
The book begins with a brief introduction and an overview of personality psychology. Part One concerns how personality psychologists do their research. Part Two addresses how people differ from one another. Part Three concerns advances in biology applied to the study of personality traits and human nature. Part Four considers the psychoanalytic approach. Part Five considers the topics of experience and existence. Part Six describes behaviorism and later approaches that emphasize the processes of learning, motivation, emotion, and cognition. Part Seven focuses on personality psychology as an applied science. This Eighth Edition includes a new chapter on relationships and work, and new coverage of replication and open science issues.
This book has a mix of case studies that demonstrate both well-adjusted and maladjusted behaviors and theory concepts, explaining personality in both the normal and the abnormal populations. The case studies in this book apply personality theories to real-life examples of typical- rather than solely abnormal- behavior. Section One provides two case studies for each of the major theories, and Section Two provides two case studies for the limited domain theories covered. Section Three contains five cases and can be used for theory comparison. The wide range of case studies is accompanied by application questions.
This book is a topically-organized child development text. It takes an integrated approach to presenting development in the physical, cognitive, emotional, and social domains; emphasizes the complex interchanges between heredity and environment; and provides exceptional attention to culture. The book comprises of five parts. Starting with the part of theory and research in child development, the book then moves to discuss foundations of development, cognitive and language development, personality and social development, and contexts for development. Multicultural and cross-cultural material is presented not only in the text’s research and in many positive and diverse examples, but also through rich photos, figures, and children’s art.
This fifth edition places children, child development, and the contexts in which development occurs at the center of the discourse. The most important and distinctive feature remains to be its emphasis on the contextualist view of human development- the child is not viewed as a passive recipient of environmental influences but as an active producer of those influences. Chapters 1-3 provide the theoretical and contextual foundation of the discipline. Chapters 4-6 focus on physical development. Chapters 7-10 focus on cognitive development. Chapters 11-14 focus on social and emotional development. Chapters 15-16 focus on peer relations, families, and influences of the larger society.
This book produces a current and comprehensive overview of child and adolescent development. It adopts the topical approach which is to organize the text around areas of development and follows each from its origins to its mature forms. Beginning with an introduction to developmental psychology, the book then proceeds to the discussion of biological foundations of development, cognitive development, social and personality development, and the context of development. Besides, the fundamental interplay is stressed among biological, cognitive, social and cultural influences of every aspect of development, so as to present the whole person and the holistic character of development.
This book explores the rich history and contemporary practice of family therapy. This eleventh edition explores the context of family therapy, including basic techniques and fundamental concepts; the classic schools, including Bowen family systems therapy, strategic family therapy, structural family therapy, experiential family therapy, psychoanalytic family therapy, and cognitive-behavioral family therapy; and the latest developments. This eleventh edition also puts an increased, pragmatic focus on clinical practice, which includes discussions of the author’s observations of actual sessions with leading practitioners, as well as the best case studies of several invited master therapists.
This book is a collection of research on Chinese child development. It consists of four parts. Part One highlights the importance of culture on child development, covering the understanding and misunderstanding surrounding Chinese culture and children. Part Two review the literature on the cognitive development of Chinese children, focusing on the reasons for the outstanding academic performance of Chinese students. Part Three focuses on the social-emotional development of Chinese children, covering both positive and negative development of Chinese children. Part Four relates modern issues and problems of the Chinese family, focusing on Chinese who live in Western countries and the paramount one-child policy in Mainland China.
This book covers theories and applications in the field of child psychology. It can help readers cultivate the sense of the theoretical and intellectual ferment that is part of any sense, and establish a firm foundation of knowledge in the field of child psychology. While the introductory chapter introduces basic issues in the study of development, the following chapters bring the readers topics ranging from the beginning of life to the physical, perceptual, cognitive, and personality development, as well as the development of language, self, and social relationships. This book also discusses the child within the family system, the impact of the broader culture, and atypical development.
This book provides an overview of major classic and current theories of personality, brings theories to life through the interpretation of illustrative biographies, and integrates a clear explanation of theory with the latest research. Beginning with an introduction to personality theory, the book then proceeds to present personality theories from psychoanalytic perspective, psychoanalytic-social perspective, trait perspective, behavioral perspective, and humanistic perspective. In this sixth edition, the organization has changed to reflect the current changes in the field of personality, focusing more on new theories and leaving behind topics that have faded into the historical past.
This book provides an introduction to lifespan development, ranging from the history, methods, and theories of human development, to the stages of human development, including prenatal development and the beginning days of life, perceptual development in infancy and infants’ cognitive, social and personality development, early childhood physical and cognitive development, the development of personality of the self, gender role development, and social relationships, development, personality change, and the development of stable peer relationships among school-age children, teen years development and peer relationships, early adulthood development and challenges, middle adulthood development and challenges, later adulthood development, and the topics of death, dying, and bereavement.
本书可作为大学心理学与教育学专业的教材或教学参考书。本书第一章把人格心理学作为对象来研讨，包括人格心理学的体系与任务、历史与发展、方法论原则，还包括人格的前科学理论与科学理论的关系、人格理论的评价标准、人格研究的途径与方法。其余章节以人格心理学的理论范式或人格心理学主要学派的人格理论作为主要内容，包括古典精神分析、新精神分析、特质论、生物学论、行为主义学习论、人本主义心理学、认知心理学、积极心理学。
This book delivers balanced and up-to-date coverage of the major theories of personality and the latest psychological research on the subject. The authors present thorough historical coverage of the development of personality research throughout the decades without omitting comprehensive analyses of contemporary research findings. Part One introduces the field of personality and its research methods. Part Two presents the personality theories. Part Three covers culture and biology. This fifteenth edition contains new research findings, new theoretical discussions, and new coverage of data-collection methods in personality science. It also features the supplements of new case simulations.
This handbook offers a one-stop resource for scientific personality psychology. It summarizes cutting-edge personality research in all its forms, including genetics, psychometrics, social-cognitive psychology, and real-world expressions, with informative and lively chapters that also highlight some areas of controversy. Each research area is discussed in terms of scientific foundations, main theories and findings, and future directions for research. The handbook also features advances in technology, such as molecular genetics and functional neuroimaging, as well as contemporary statistical approaches. This second edition is fully updated with some new topics, such as accuracy in person perception, the unconscious, needs, goals and motivation, and social and economic behavior.
Address:
2001 Longxiang Blvd., Longgang District,
Shenzhen, Guangdong, China
Tel: (0755)23515151 (University Library)
Email: library@cuhk.edu.cn
on WeChat
on Bilibili
