Skip to main content

Web of Science and Related Tools

Introduction Video

What is Citation Index

A citation index is a way of organizing and representing the literature using cited references.  When authors cite one another, they show us connections between published papers, and therefore connections between the ideas those papers represent.  An author implies a subject relationship to a paper when they cite it.
 
The Citation Network is represented for each paper through:
 
Cites References – the backward references - the research that this paper cites, and its discoveries were based upon.
Times Cited – the forward citations – more recently published papers that cite this one.

Related Records – papers which share at least one cited reference in common with this paper.  If they share citations, they’re likely discussing similar topics.
(Clarivate, 2019)

Web of Science Platform

The Web of Science provides a common search language, navigation environment, and data structure allowing researchers to search broadly across disparate resources and use the citation connections inherent to the index to navigate to relevant research results and measure impact. (Clarivate 2019)

Web of Science Collection

Web of Science Core Collection includes:

1. Science Citation Index Expanded (SCIE-formerly SCI)

2. Social Science Citation Index (SSCI)

3. Arts & Humanities Citation Index (A&HCI)

4. Emerging Sources Citation Index (ESCI)

5. Current Chemical Reactions and Index Chemicus

6. Conference Proceedings Citation Index (CPCI) - Not Purchased yet

7. Book Citation Index (BKCI) - Not Purchased yet

Regional Hosted Collections - Not purchased yet:

Chinese Science Citation Database, Russian Science Citation Index, KCI Korean Journal Database, SciELO Citation Index

Patent & Data Collections - Not purchased yet:

Derwent Innovations Index, Data Citation Index

Specialty Hosted Collections - Not purchased yet:

Current Contents Connect, BIOSIS Citation Index, BIOSIS Previews & Biological Abstracts, Zoological Record, Inspec, MEDLINE, CABI: CAB Abstracts & Global Health, Food Science & Technology Abstracts