LibGuides: ECO3480 Industrial Organization and Public Policy: Home

Book

Industrial Organization: Markets and Strategies

A comprehensive textbook examining how firms behave in markets and formulate strategies. It covers market power, product differentiation, pricing strategies, competition policy, and network goods, using modern analytical approaches.

Modern Industrial Organization

A foundational text exploring the structure, behavior, and performance of firms in imperfectly competitive markets, with emphasis on real-world applications and policy implications.

Recommeded Databases

ABI/INFORM - ProQuest
This database provides extensive access to full-text journals, working papers, and industry reports. It is essential for researching firm strategies, market competition, antitrust cases, and the economic analysis of specific industries, supporting both theoretical and empirical coursework.
AEA Journals
This collection provides direct access to the leading journals in economics. It is fundamental for finding seminal and current research on industrial organization, competition policy, market structure, and the economic theories underpinning public policy.
Capital IQ - S&P
This platform provides deep financial and strategic data on global companies. It is crucial for analyzing firm-level strategies, market shares, mergers and acquisitions, and competitive dynamics within specific industries.
CEIC Global Database + China Premium Database
Offers unparalleled macroeconomic and industry-specific data for over 213 economies, with deep coverage of China. It is vital for understanding the market structure and industrial landscape in which firms operate and policies are implemented.
D&B Hoovers IP Solution 教育科研版全球企业信息平台
Provides detailed information on hundreds of millions of global companies. It is excellent for researching competitors, supply chains, and market concentration, enabling detailed analysis of industry structures and corporate strategies.
Financial Times
A leading source for real-time business news and analysis. It offers contemporary case studies of corporate strategy, market competition, regulatory actions, and antitrust issues, connecting course concepts to current events.
JSTOR
A core digital library for the social sciences. It provides access to a vast archive of scholarly literature, allowing students to research the historical development and theoretical foundations of industrial organization.
SAGE Business Cases
This database offers authoritative business case studies from over 120 countries. These real-world scenarios are perfect for analyzing firm behavior, competitive strategies, and the impact of regulatory decisions in various market contexts.
Scopus
A major abstract and citation database. It enables comprehensive literature reviews to identify key research on market power, product differentiation, innovation, and the economic effects of competition policy.
Statista
Consolidates statistical data on markets, industries, and consumer insights. It is useful for quickly accessing data on market sizes, industry trends, and company rankings to support competitive analysis and policy evaluation.

Wharton Research Data Service (WRDS)
A premier platform for financial and economic data. WRDS is ideal for advanced empirical research on topics like mergers and acquisitions, market concentration, and the financial performance of firms within different industrial structures.

中国研究数据服务平台
A high-quality platform for data on the Chinese economy and businesses. It is indispensable for analyzing industrial organization, market competition, and corporate strategies within the unique context of the Chinese market.

Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) Data
Offers a wide array of standardized statistics on industry, regulation, and competition policy for member countries. This is crucial for robust cross-country comparative analysis of market regulations and industrial performance.
中国商务部
Publishes policies, market dynamics, and statistics on domestic and foreign trade, investment, and anti-monopoly enforcement. It is a key source for understanding China's regulatory approach to industrial organization and competition.
国家统计局
The most authoritative source for official Chinese statistics. It provides comprehensive data on industrial output, concentration, and performance, forming the essential foundation for any study of China's industrial landscape.

Learning Outcomes

Upon completing this course, we will be able to:

Understand basic models of modern industrial organisation
Solve business problems related to industrial organisation
Analyse policy issues related to industrial organisation

Help

If you have any questions, please feel free to contact our SME Subject Librarian: Alice

ECO3480 Industrial Organization and Public Policy: Home

Course Description

Book

Industrial Organization: Markets and Strategies

Modern Industrial Organization

Recommeded Databases

Learning Outcomes

Help

Contact Us

Find us

Quick Links