Skip to Main Content
EndNote online is a cloud service that helps you quickly save and manage your search results, as well as all the bibliographic information. You can create an account with your CUHKSZ email address and sign in. Use this link to download and install EndNote Desktop.
Journal Citation Report is a Clarivate tool that allows users to evaluate and compare the academic impact of journals by using citation data from Web of Science Core Collection. Journals must undergo a rigorous evaluation in order to be covered in Web of Science Core Collection. For complete tutorial, please visit this link.
Journal Impact Factor: is an indicator of a journal's relative academic influence. Calculation of Journal Impact Factor: X/Y, in which X is Journal A's 2020's citation number of all its articles published in 2019 and 2018, Y is the total number of Journal A's articles published in 2019 and 2018 These are journal-level metrics, and should not be used to measure academic impact of authors, institutions, or articles. Review journals often have higher journal impact factors. Do not compare journals from different subject because the citation data varies significantly. Web of Science only calculates these for the science, engineering and social science journals indexed in their database. New journals not yet added to Web of Science and arts and humanities journals do not have journal impact factors.
Immediacy Index: this indicator measures how quickly articles in a journal are cited. It is calculated by X/Y, X is the total citations of a journal, Y is the citable items, i.e., articles and reviews.
For both Cited Half Life and Citing Half Life. A half-life in the context of the JCR is the median age of cited objects.
JIF Quartile: A journal's quartile ranking is determined by comparing a journal to others in its JCR category based on Impact Factor score. Journals in Q1 are those performs better than at least 75% of journals in that category. This is based on Journal Impact Factor.
JIF Percentile: The journal’s rank in category, determined by Impact Factor, expressed as a percentile. e.g., a journal with a JIF percentile of 99 performs better than 99% of journals in that category, based on its Impact Factor score.
Eigenfactor Score measures the number of times articles from the journal published in the past five years have been cited in the Journal Citation Reports (JCR) year.
Essential Science Indicators (ESI) is an analytical tool that helps you identify top-performing research in Web of Science Core Collection. ESI surveys more than 11,000 journals from around the world to rank authors, institutions, countries, and journals in 22 broad fields based on publication and citation performance. Data covers a rolling 10-year period and includes bimonthly updates to rankings and citation counts. List of ESI disciplines:
| CLINICAL MEDICINE | GEOSCIENCES |
| CHEMISTRY | PHARMACOLOGY & TOXICOLOGY |
| MATERIALS SCIENCE | PSYCHIATRY/PSYCHOLOGY |
| BIOLOGY & BIOCHEMISTRY | IMMUNOLOGY |
| ENGINEERING | AGRICULTURAL SCIENCES |
| PHYSICS | MICROBIOLOGY |
| MOLECULAR BIOLOGY & GENETICS | COMPUTER SCIENCE |
| NEUROSCIENCE & BEHAVIOR | SPACE SCIENCE |
| SOCIAL SCIENCES, GENERAL | ECONOMICS & BUSINESS |
| ENVIRONMENT/ECOLOGY | MATHEMATICS |
| PLANT & ANIMAL SCIENCE | MULTIDISCIPLINARY |
Essential Science Indicators is sourced from the Science Citation Index-Expanded (SCIE), the Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI) and the Arts & Humanities Citation Index (A&HCI) in Web of Science Core Collection.
Hot Papers are papers published in the last two years that are receiving citations quickly after publication. These papers have been cited enough times in the most recent bimonthly period to place them in the top 0.1% when compared to papers in the same field and added to the database in the same period.
Highly Cited Papers are papers that perform in the top 1% based on the number of citations received when compared to other papers published in the same field in the same year. Click on the Highly Cited Paper icon for more details about an item.
Complete Collection of ESI Training Videos
Publons enables you track your publications, citation metrics, peer reviews, and journal editing work in a single, easy-tomaintain profile. The Web of Science ResearcherID on Publons and ORCID, both supported in Web of Science are two author identifier solutions that help you build your publication portfolio. You can link Publons with your ORCID ID to easily export your publication list and verified peer review records from Publons to ORCID. You can also import your publications from ORCID to Publons.
Link to Publons. Click on Create a Publons Profile or Register. If you already have a sign-in for Web of Science or EndNote online, use the same email address when you register for Publons.
Via Author Search, you can find your publications in Web of Science and claim them to Publons.
EndNoteClick (formerly Kopernio) is a free, easy-to-use browser plugin that helps you save time accessing full-text journal articles by bringing your institutional subscriptions as well as open access content into your workflow at your point of need. Access to EndNoteClick